Australia turn to Maxwell

Uncapped Hampshire all-rounder named in limited overs squads

Australia have unveiled two squad for their limited overs series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates.

Australia are due to take on Pakistan in three one-day internationals and three Twenty20 games - starting on August 28.

And uncapped Hampshire all-rounder Glenn Maxwell will get his chance to shine, while Shane Watson, Cameron White, Brad Hogg and Ben Hilfenhaus return for the T20 ties.

Michael Hussey has been selected for both squads after missing the 4-0 series defeat to England, with Callum Ferguson recalled after more than a year in the wilderness.

Inverarity said: "The ODI squad has a strong development aspect to it. Shane Watson and Ben Hilfenhaus have not been included and Brett Lee has retired.


"This will provide development opportunities for others and allow Shane and Ben to complete a more thorough strength and conditioning program before embarking on a very demanding schedule.

"The team includes many talented young players; David Warner, Matthew Wade, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Steve Smith, and of particular interest Glenn Maxwell and Callum Ferguson.

"Glenn Maxwell is a relatively inexperienced player who ... is a versatile and lively off-spinning all-rounder and brilliant fieldsman that has caught the eye.

"An injury last January somewhat halted his progress but in recent months he has impressed. Glenn will provide another spin bowler option on the slow, low, turning wickets in the UAE."

Australia squads - ODIs: Michael Clarke (captain), David Warner, George Bailey, Dan Christian, Xavier Doherty, Callum Ferguson, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, James Pattinson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade.
T20: George Bailey (captain), Shane Watson, Dan Christian, Pat Cummins, Xavier Doherty, Ben Hilfenhaus, Brad Hogg, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Cameron White.