Australia ring the changes for upcoming Twenty20 series with Sri Lanka

Last updated: 21st January 2013  

Aaron Finch ODI debut

Aaron Finch: Also selected to take on Sri Lanka

shaun marsh australia sri lanka fifth odi colombo

Shaun Marsh: Rewarded for impressive Big Bash campaign

Related links


Also see

Australia have unveiled a new-look Twenty20 squad for the upcoming three-match series against Sri Lanka.

Batsmen Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh and Adam Voges and seamers Ben Laughlin, Ben Cutting and James Faulkner have been selected to take on the Sri Lankans.

Batsmen Luke Pomersbach and Ben Rohrer, however, were overlooked despite impressing during the recently-concluded Big Bash campaign. The latter finished second only to Marsh in the run-scoring charts and the latter garnered a hefty strike-rate of 152.06 across eight matches.

"Ben Rohrer played brilliantly with the Melbourne Renegades and was in strong contention for inclusion, as was Luke Pomersbach. We are pleased to see Luke playing so well and hope his good form continues," said national selector John Inverarity.

Batsman David Hussey, meanwhile, has lost his place - and all-rounder Shane Watson was not considered for selection due to his calf strain. Cutting is the only uncapped player in the 12-man collective.

"This squad includes six players who were not in World Twenty20 squad in September. Each of these six, Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh, Adam Voges, Ben Cutting, James Faulkner and Ben Laughlin has shown outstanding form in the T20 format over the past two months," added Inverarity.

The opening T20I gets underway in Sydney on Saturday and will be followed by the second and final fixture in Melbourne two days later.

T20 Squad: George Bailey (captain), Ben Cutting, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Ben Laughlin, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Adam Voges, Matthew Wade, David Warner.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet