ICC Women's World Cup: Australia reach eighth final thanks to Sri Lanka success

Last updated: 10th February 2013  

Lisa Sthalekar

Lisa Sthalekar: Claimed two wickets

Rachael Haynes Australia women

Rachael Haynes: Unbeaten half-century saw Australia to victory

Related links







Also see

Australia women motored into the final of the ICC Women's World Cup following a nine-wicket demolition of Sri Lanka in Mumbai.

After restricting Sri Lanka to just 131, Australia eased past their target thanks to Rachael Haynes' unbeaten 71.

Australia will play either England, New Zealand or West Indies in their eighth World Cup final on February 17.

Sri Lanka, after being asked to bat first, lost wickets at regular intervals as only Deepika Rasangika (43) made a notable contribution to their below-par innings.

Megan Schutt (2-34) and Lisa Sthalekar (2-26) shared four wickets for Australia and off-spinner Erin Osborne (3-9) ran through the middle-order.

Australia openers Meg Lanning and Haynes wasted little time setting about the run-chase, sharing a 55-run partnership inside 10 overs for the first wicket.

Lanning fell for a breezy 37, leaving Haynes to steer the Southern Stars home with 27.4 overs still remaining.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet