Sangakkara in the clear
Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara has been cleared of a level two breach of the ICC code of conduct.
Last Updated: 21/08/10 9:45am
Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara has been cleared of breaching the International Cricket Council's code of conduct while batting during the triangular series match against New Zealand in Dambulla on Friday.
Sangakkara was charged with a level two breach of the code - relating to "inappropriate and deliberate physical contact between players in the course of play" - after he collided with New Zealand bowler Nathan McCullum while turning to come back for a second run.
But match referee Alan Hurst decided to take no action after viewing video evidence of the incident.
"I looked at video footage of the incident from various angles and considered the detailed evidence of the umpires," Hurst said in an ICC statement.
"I found that video evidence that was put forward by the player provided reasonable doubt as to whether the contact was deliberate."
The match was abandoned due to heavy rain with Sri Lanka, sent in to bat, on 203-3 from 43.4 overs.