Nehra ruled out of final
India will be without seam bowler Ashish Nehra for Saturday's World Cup final against Sri Lanka.
Last Updated: 01/04/11 12:03pm
India will be without seam bowler Ashish Nehra for Saturday's World Cup final against Sri Lanka in Mumbai.
Nehra fractured a finger in his non-bowling hand during the semi-final win over Pakistan on Wednesday, a match in which he claimed 2-33 after being selected ahead of spinner Ravichandran Ashwin.
"Ashish is most certainly out of the final because he has multiple fractures on a finger in the right hand," India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni said on Friday.
Dhoni refused to reveal whether Ashwin would return to the side or if seamer Shanthakumaran Sreesanth would get the nod.
"The Mumbai wicket usually has a bit of bounce and a third seamer gives me the option to manoevure the attack," he said.
"But if we feel there could be turn in the wicket as the game progresses, Ashwin will come into the picture. It helps to have such good options."
Gautam Gambhir is expected to play despite sustaining a minor hamstring problem while fielding against Pakistan.