Hauritz: 'We can still win'
Nathan Hauritz has stepped up the mind games with England by insisting Australia 'can definitely still win'.
Last Updated: 18/07/09 11:40pm
Nathan Hauritz has stepped up the mind games with England by insisting Australia 'can definitely still win' the second Ashes Test at Lord's.
The off-spinner and his colleagues were bowled out for just 215 in their first innings, still 210 runs behind England's first innings total, before Andrew Strauss' men advanced to 311-6 at the close.
But, despite trailing England by a seemingly unassailable 521 runs with two days remaining, Hauritz is adamant the tourists can still triumph.
"We definitely can win this," he said. "We batted last week and scored over 600 in Cardiff.
"We obviously didn't bat as well as we'd have liked in the first innings but whatever it takes, we're going to have almost two days of batting.
"We need a positive outlook and to back our ability. That's what we have to do.
"Batting for two days on a fourth and fifth day wicket is going to be extremely tough but that's the reason you play Test cricket for your country.
"It's not meant to be easy and we just have to stay positive about it."
The slow bowler had a diving catch at mid-on from Ravi Bopara chalked off by the television umpire and when asked about the incident added: "I thought I caught it straight away.
"Rudi Koertzen referred it and said it was inconclusive. I didn't see it, but I didn't hear it hit the ground, which is why I thought I'd caught it."
The timing of the declaration could prove key and, though Andrew Strauss will likely heed Hauritz's words, he will be anxious not to leave it too late to get the Aussies in on Sunday.