West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin contests ICC misconduct charge
West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin has been charged by the ICC for his dubious claim for a catch against Pakistan.
Last Updated: 08/06/13 11:32am
Ramdin claimed he had taken a clean catch to dismiss Misbah-ul-Haq off Kemar Roach before the Pakistan captain had scored in the ICC Champions Trophy encounter at The Oval.
Australian umpire Steve Davis upheld the on-field appeal, but square-leg umpire Nigel Llong persuaded Davis to refer the decision to third umpire Tony Hill.
Replays revealed that Ramdin had initially caught the ball but allowed it to hit the ground before he had full control.
Misbah was subsequently reprieved and went on to hammer a blistering 96 out of his side's 170 all out, although it was not enough to prevent the Windies from snatching a two-wicket victory.
The ICC confirmed Ramdin has been charged with a level two breach of the ICC Code of Conduct which relates to "conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game."
But Ramdin has contested the charge, and he now faces an ICC hearing into the incident in London on Monday.
If the charge is proven, Ramdin could face a suspension of up to two matches and be fined either all, or half of his match fee.
Misbah was highly critical of Ramdin after the match, saying: "I don't think I would be happy if my wicketkeeper did that.
"If you don't know if it is (a catch) then fine, but if you know it's not a catch you should not claim it because it's not in the spirit of the game."
But Windies captain Dwayne Bravo added: "Denesh thought he honestly had control of the ball. He is a very honest player."