Mistakes prove costly
Two extraordinary own goals, both by goalkeepers, ensured Eintracht Braunschweig and Borussia Monchengladbach drew 1-1.
Last Updated: 01/03/14 6:24pm
Two extraordinary own goals, both by goalkeepers, ensured Eintracht Braunschweig and Borussia Monchengladbach took a point apiece from a 1-1 draw at the Eintracht Stadion.
Daniel Davari was first to turn the ball into his own net and give Gladbach the lead before the highly-rated Marc-Andre ter Stegen was left with egg on his face with an even worse error of his own gifting Braunschweig a point.
The Foals tried harder to get the win in the closing stages, and take Ter Stegen out of the firing line, but Davari was not going to be beaten again.
The Iran international was not so fortunate earlier on though as his 24th-minute mistake put Gladbach ahead.
Davari really should have collected Raffael's inswinging corner but he appeared to have been distracted by his defender on the near post, possibly expecting his team-mate to clear the danger, and could only watch in horror as the ball hit his thigh and rebounded into the net.
It was the visitors' first real attack after spending much of the match up to that point in their own half defending.
Braunschweig continued to attack, yet once again it was the visitors who threatened the most when Branimir Hrgota was denied by a fine save from Davari, making up in part for his earlier gaffe.
It was then Ter Stegen's turn to drop a clanger to allow the hosts to draw level in the 52nd minute.
There appeared little danger as Filip Daems played a harmless-looking pass back to Ter Stegen, but the Germany goalkeeper, who is reportedly close to joining Barcelona, made an uncharacteristic error that will give him sleepless nights.
In seemingly trying to move the ball across goal onto his preferred right foot, he managed only to divert the back-pass - which was going wide - into his own net.
Wanting to save their goalkeeper from the inevitable blame in the event of a draw, Gladbach moved up a gear and Hrgota was once again denied by Davari.
Davari was then beaten by Max Kruse, but the shot bounced back off the inside of the post.
Peniel Mlapa did have the ball in the back of the net late on, but the goal was ruled out for offside as the points were shared.