Vidic - Ref got it right
Man United defender Nemanja Vidic does not believe he should have been sent off in the win over Aston Villa.
Last Updated: 28/02/10 8:19pm
Manchester United defender Nemanja Vidic does not believe he should have been sent off in the Carling Cup final win over Aston Villa.
Vidic appeared fortunate to escape a red card after just five minutes of the Wembley encounter after bringing down Gabriel Agbonlahor in the box.
The Serbian centre-half was the last man when he initially pulled Agbonlahor's shirt and then brought the striker down for the penalty which was converted by James Milner.
Referee Phil Dowd did not even show Vidic a yellow card for the incident and Villa boss Martin O'Neill was left 'puzzled' by the decision.
However, while accepting he may need to review the video of the challenge, Vidic felt Dowd was correct not to send him off.
"I think nothing about it," Vidic told Sky Sports. "I gave away the penalty.
"But about the red card, I didn't think I would get the red card to be honest.
"On the video I will need to see it because sometimes you don't see so well in the game."
He added: "I can react better, but Agbonlahor did well.
"I don't think it was a red card because I got in front of him, not behind. If I had got behind then yes.
"It's always nice to win big games, but it was hard. They played with two forwards, but I thought we deserved it."