No FA action over Ridgewell
Birmingham's Liam Ridgewell will not be facing charges over his tackle on James McCarthy at the weekend.
Last Updated: 02/03/10 10:34am
The Football Association have confirmed that Birmingham's Liam Ridgewell will not be facing charges over his tackle on James McCarthy at the weekend.
McCarthy suffered a recurrence of an ankle injury following the touchline challenge by Ridgewell in which referee's assistant Trevor Massey had to be carried off after being struck in the face by the tip of the corner flag.
Latics boss Roberto Martinez was left fuming at the challenge, which he described as 'leg breaker'.
But the FA have now confirmed that referee Anthony Taylor saw the incident, and decided it did not merit any action, and as such they will not be taking the matter further.
A Football Association spokesman said: "The FA are to take no action against Liam Ridgewell because the referee saw the incident at the time and dealt with the situation at the time."