Sturridge escapes FA action
The FA has confirmed Daniel Sturridge has escaped punishment for his clash with Tommy Smith.
Last Updated: 25/03/10 3:55pm
The Football Association has confirmed that Chelsea striker Daniel Sturridge has escaped punishment for his clash with Tommy Smith which left the Portsmouth striker with a broken nose.
Smith sustained the injury after being caught by Sturridge's elbow during Chelsea's 5-0 win on Wednesday night, but the FA have not classed the incident as "off-the-ball", meaning referee Lee Mason was deemed to have dealt with it at the time.
In an incident earlier in the game Sturridge's team-mate Florent Malouda was booked for an aerial collision with defender Ricardo Rocha which resulted in the centre-back sustaining a suspected fractured cheekbone.
As Mason dealt with the offence at the time no further action will be taken.