FA acts over Second City furore
The FA has confirmed Birmingham have been hit with disciplinary action after the defeat to Aston Villa.
Last Updated: 27/04/10 7:25pm
The Football Association has confirmed that Birmingham City have been hit with disciplinary action after the furore that surrounded Sunday's defeat to Aston Villa.
City lost the Second City derby at Villa Park 1-0 to a controversial, late penalty that James Milner converted to sneak a narrow victory.
Birmingham have been charged with failing to ensure their players conducted themselves in an orderly fashion after referee Martin Atkinson was surrounded by a furious group following his award of the spot-kick.
Stephen Carr has also been charged with improper conduct for allegedly making an offensive gesture to Villa fans at the end of the match. West Midlands Police are also expected to question the Blues defender over the incident.
Birmingham's Roger Johnson, who was adjudged by Atkinson to have fouled Gabriel Agbonlahor to concede the penalty, has also been asked to explain his comments to the media in which he verbally attacked the match official.
The FA said in a statement: "Birmingham City FC have been charged with failing to ensure their players conducted themselves in an orderly fashion, relating to the players' behaviour towards referee Martin Atkinson following the awarding of a spot-kick to Aston Villa late in the fixture.
"Birmingham City defender Stephen Carr has been charged with improper conduct following an incident at the end of the same fixture.
"Meanwhile, Roger Johnson, also of City, has been asked to explain comments made to the media after the fixture in relation to referee Martin Atkinson."
TV replays showed that Johnson had got a touch on the ball and the defender said afterwards: "The referee was a disgrace. He's ruined the match and clearly shouldn't be doing these kind of games - it was too big for him.
"I got the ball cleanly, everyone could see that, and the ref can't make a decision if he's not sure. The rules say if you're not sure, you don't give a penalty."