Bosingwa escapes FA action
No disciplinary action will be taken against Jose Bosingwa for his challenge on Yossi Benayoun.
By James Dall
Last Updated: 02/02/09 5:44pm
The Football Association has confirmed that no disciplinary action will be taken against Chelsea defender Jose Bosingwa for his challenge on Liverpool's Yossi Benayoun.
Bosingwa was clearly guilty of studding Benayoun in the back during the dying stages of Chelsea's 2-0 defeat at Anfield on Sunday.
The Portugal international has since apologised for his challenge, which was not seen by referee Mike Riley.
The FA's decision not to hand out a punishment comes as a major boost for Chelsea and Bosingwa, with the club also awaiting an appeal over Frank Lampard's red card in the same game.