Jose puzzled at Mutu mistruth
By Patrick Goss
Last Updated: 01/01/70 1:00am
Jose Mourinho has dismissed Adrian Mutu's latest claims.Jose Mourinho has dismissed Adrian Mutu's suggestion that they nearly came to blows over his lack of first team action.
Mutu has suggested that he nearly hit Mourinho, but just as the manager dismissed his suggestion a few weeks ago that he was banned from travelling with his national side when ruled out through injury, the Chelsea boss has insisted the Romanian is lying.
"In the same way as it was not true that I forbid him to go, something him and his manager confirmed a few days afterwards, this is not true," said a puzzled Mourinho.
"I saw him twice since he arrived back from the Czech Republic - once in training on Monday and once in a meeting.
"Not many words were exchanged and there was certainly not a single reaction, no emotion.
"If the boy said that we nearly came to blows he is not saying the truth."
Mutu is currently facing a lengthy ban after testing positive for a banned substance, but it appears the striker is determined to drive a wedge between himself and his manager.