Finnan hits out over penalty
Steve Finnan has hit out over Chelsea's controversial equaliser at Anfield on Sunday.
By Rob Parrish
Last Updated: 20/08/07 5:16pm
Liverpool defender Steve Finnan has joined the chorus of disapproval over Chelsea's controversial penalty equaliser at Anfield on Sunday.
Referee Rob Styles pointed to the spot after Finnan tangled with Florent Malouda, but replays clearly showed no foul had been committed by the Republic of Ireland international.
Styles has since admitted he made a mistake, and will not referee in the Premier League this weekend as a result of his blunder.
Finnan said: "When the referee blew his whistle I thought it was for someone being offside in the box.
"But their players will appeal for anything, when really all the lad did was to run into me.
"We are very, very disappointed, especially the way they got back into the game.
"Chelsea needed something like that. They played a bit better after they had scored, but until they got their goal we had dominated.
"They didn't have many chances, so it was very disappointing to have been held like that.
"We played well and four points from two games is not a bad start but it should have been six."
He added: "The start to our season has been pretty good. We won our first away league game, and it was a very professional performance to win in Toulouse.
"That was important considering the conditions out there, so it was disappointing not to end the week with a win over Chelsea that we deserved."