Rodrigues: Kewell admitted to dive
By Mark Buckingham
Last Updated: 01/01/70 1:00am
Australian star Kewell theatrically fell over in the box in the 77th minute under no apparent challenge from Rodrigues.
Danny Murphy netted the resulting spot kick which enabled the Premiership side to claim a 2-0 lead at Huish Park.
Kewell's actions undoubtedly ensured Liverpool avoided a nervy finale and the possibility of a cup upset.
But their passage into the fourth round was tarnished by Kewell's behaviour in winning the penalty which sealed the victory.
Giant defender Rodrigues admitted Kewell acknowledged he had dived and said it was part and parcel of the game, with his Reds team-mate El Hadji Diouf booked for a similar offence in the first half.
"I spoke with Kewell at the time and told him I never touched him," said Rodrigues.
"He said 'Yeah, I know you didn't. But this is football, man. I had to dive'.
"I have seen my challenge on Kewell again on the TV and it definitely wasn't a foul.
"We deserved at least a draw because they scored one goal and were given a penalty that was not a penalty.
"Liverpool tried it at least four times in the first half and they do it to put pressure on the referee."