Champions League: Jack Wilshere admitted he did make contact with Besiktas player
Last Updated: 27/08/14 11:28pm
Jack Wilshere admitted he was fortunate to get away with a challenge that could have resulted in a Besiktas penalty in Arsenal's Champions League play-off second leg victory at The Emirates.
With the tie still finely balanced at 0-0, Portuguese referee Pedro Proenca waved away vociferous appeals from the visitors after Wilshere had appeared to clip Ismail Koybasi as he thundered in at goal.
And the England midfielder revealed that he did make contact after the match.
"I think I did (make contact), but that is up to the referee," Wilshere told Sky Sports.
"I slipped as he tried to put the ball into the box.
"I thought the referee did a good job tonight on the whole."
Wilshere also insisted that Mathieu Debuchy's sending off changed the game, and ensured the final 15 minutes was hard work for all concerned.
"We had a few chances, and normally at this level you get punished for missing them," Wilshere added.
"We wanted to kill them off, which was the plan at half-time, but after going down to ten men that changed that.
"I was struggling at the end. We showed great character. It was tough, but we dug in and the defence was brilliant.