Pedersen dispels penalty claims
By Kent Hedlundh
Last Updated: 01/01/70 1:00am
Morten Gamst Pedersen has claimed it was a penalty against Leicester in the FA Cup.Morten Gamst Pedersen has claimed there was no controversy surrounding the penalty that won Blackburn their FA Cup tie against Leicester.
With the score level at Ewood Park the Norway international went down in the box under a challenge from City defender Darren Kenton.
Some felt Gamst Pedersen made the most of the tackle that resulted in Paul Dickov winning the contest from the penalty spot.
However, the former Tromso star has hit back and stated he was caught and that referee Neale Barry made the correct decision.
"There are no doubts that he took away my foot," said Gamst Pedersen to VG. "He tackled me, but I managed to jump over him.
"Then, I tried to reach the ball again, he lifted his foot to hook me again. Then, I fell.
"I was trying to play the ball on to Dickov in the middle. I didn't look for a penalty."