GREGORY FUMES AT EL-KHALEJ
By Alex Livie
Last Updated: 01/01/70 1:00am
Dublin saw red after El-Khalej fell to the floor clutching his face, with referee Steve Dunn brandishing the red card after consulting a linesman who was over 40 yards away from the action.
Gregory was astonished by the decision, and that of Saints` Rory Delap, and plans to appeal to get the dismissal overturned.
Speaking in the aftermath of the game, an unhappy Gregory fumed: "The Southampton boy was disgraceful in the way he fell to the floor, rolled over six times and carried on playing. I'd be embarrassed if I was him, to have done that.
"They (El-Khalej and Dublin) did put their heads together, but's it's their boy's fault just as much as Dion's. I hope that the FA will look at it and deal with it accordingly.
"Mr Dunn has the opportunity to look at it again, if the FA ask him if he wants to change his mind. If he thought he should be sent off, I don't think he needs to ask the two linesmen who were 50 yards away.
"It was quite pathetic. There's been so much spoken about players diving and there was hardly any contact.
"He (Dublin) certainly didn't headbutt him. I hope the referee looks at it and rescinds the decision - I hope common sense prevails."
He also had words of sympathy for Delap, who was dismissed after being adjudged to have clipped the heels of Hassan Kachloul.
Gregory said: "Rory Delap was very, very unlucky to have been sent off. At the time, my first reaction was that he denied Hassan Kachloul the opportunity of scoring.
"Had he stuck out a leg and meant to do it, the punishment is to leave the field of play. But when you sit and watch the TV, no way did he intend to bring down Hassan.
"I've been campaigning for a third eye for a long time, and if someone upstairs had made the decision on that incident, I'm sure it would have been a yellow card."
Villa keeper Peter Schmeichel has also accused El Khalej of `play-acting'.
"Seeing the guy rolling around on the floor - I knew it was play-acting straight away," said the Dane.
"The ref said to me he hadn't seen anything himself."