Alcaraz does not argue charge
Wigan have confirmed Antolin Alcaraz has accepted his FA charge and will serve an automatic three-match suspension.
Last Updated: 08/11/11 7:04pm
Wigan have confirmed defender Antolin Alcaraz has accepted his Football Association charge and will serve an automatic three-match suspension.
The Paraguay international was caught by television cameras spitting at Richard Stearman towards the end of the Latics' 3-1 defeat at Wolves on Sunday.
Although referee Lee Probert did not see the incident at the time, video evidence highlighted the offence and Alcaraz was charged by the FA on Monday.
He was given until 6pm on Tuesday to respond to the charge and did so shortly before the deadline.
Wigan have also said the defender will be subject to the club's disciplinary process.
"Paraguay defender Antolin Alcaraz has accepted the FA's misconduct charge for spitting following the incident at the end of Sunday's Premier League match against Wolves, which carries an automatic three-match ban," said a Wigan statement.
"The matter will be treated with the utmost seriousness and be dealt with internally, according to the club's code of conduct."