Mark Webber handed a reprimand in Austin after missing a random weight check
Schumacher avoids any further action after alleged blocking
Last Updated: 17/11/12 10:13pm
According to Rule 26.1 of Formula 1's regulations "cars taking part in Q1 and Q2 will be selected at random to undergo the weighing procedure...When signaled to do so the driver will proceed directly to the FIA garage and stop his engine."
However, Webber missed the light at the end of the pit-lane alerting him to the check and proceeded straight to the Red Bull garage - an oversight Sky Sports F1's Anthony Davidson could understand.
"The light is on the right hand side as you come in, but Red Bull is the first garage on the left and that is where Mark will have been looking so it is easy to miss," the former Super Augri driver said.
The stewards could have handed the Australian a grid penalty, or excluded him from Sunday's race, but in the hours after the end of qualifying the FIA confirmed that only a reprimand would be issued against the driver.
"Driver failed to proceed directly to the FIA garage for weighing when signalled to do so. However upon realising the error, the team brought the car back to the FIA garage immediately," the stewards' reasoning read.
The outcome is therefore a relief to Red Bull as they go in search of a third straight Constructors' Championship in Sunday's race. Webber will start from the head of the second row directly behind pole-sitting team-mate Sebastian Vettel.
Michael Schumacher was also called to face the stewards after qualifying in Austin after Ferrari complained he had obstructed Fernando Alonso during Q2, but escaped sanction.
The German was very slow on the apex of turn 15 as he created a gap ahead of him before attempting a flying lap - forcing Alonso to abandon a timed lap of his own.
The Ferrari driver gesticulated from the cockpit at the rear of the Mercedes whilst shouting "unbelievable Michael, unbelievable Michael" on the radio to the pit-wall.
However, with both drivers progressing to the final part of qualifying the stewards decided the seven-time World Champion had not made any indiscretion and no further action was taken.