US PGA Championship: Cameron Tringale disqualified nearly a week after tournament finished
Last Updated: 16/08/14 11:43pm
Cameron Tringale has been disqualified from the US PGA Championship nearly a week after the tournament concluded.
The American player belatedly told the rules committee he might have whiffed on a tap-in putt in the final round and thus signed for an incorrect score.
Tringale tied for 33rd at Valhalla Golf Club in Kentucky but signed for a bogey four on the par-three 11th after swinging his putter over the ball prior to tapping in.
He called the PGA of America because of the slightest doubt whether his swing over the ball should have counted as a stroke.
Even though the competition had long since finished, Tringale was disqualified under Rule 34-1-iii.
Tringale forfeits the $53,000 in earnings and also loses 37 FedEx Cup points, which could be more costly before the playoffs start.
"We are very appreciative of Cameron coming forward to inform us of this situation," said Kerry Haigh, chief championships officer of the PGA. "It again shows the great values and traditions of the game and the honesty and integrity of its competitors."