Select a team

Football

Bees set for Breen talks
Friday 4th June 11:31

Barnet are to hold talks with defender Gary Breen over a possible coaching role at the League Two outfit.

Barnet bring in duo
Friday 10th July 09:53

League Two club Barnet have announced the signings of Micah Hyde and Yannick Bolasie.

Bees land Breen
Monday 1st December 19:36

Barnet have concluded the signing veteran defender Gary Breen.

Wolves to let six go
Saturday 10th May 17:00

Wolves have given Gary Breen a free transfer and put five other players up for sale.

Wolves eye keeper swoop
Tuesday 7th August 13:08

Wolves boss Mick McCarthy is ready to move into the transfer market for a new goalkeeper

Championship round-up
Saturday 31st March 17:00

Derby extended their lead at the top, while Sunderland moved into second spot.

McCarthy assures duo
Friday 23rd February 20:38

Mick McCarthy insists Gary Breen and Jody Craddock can still have a future at Wolves.

Championship Round-up
Tuesday 30th January 19:25

Freddy Eastwood was on target as Southend stunned Birmingham at St Andrews.

Breen thanks Thompson
Friday 6th October 16:38

Gary Breen has thanked Cardiff striker Steven Thompson for helping him win his appeal.

Breen's Bluebirds red rescinded
Thursday 5th October 17:16

Wolves' Gary Breen has been cleared by the FA for his red card against Cardiff.

Wolves appeal Breen dismissal
Monday 2nd October 12:27

Wolves say they will appeal against defender Gary Breen's red card at Cardiff City.

Championship round-up
Saturday 30th September 17:05

Cardiff moved five points clear at the top, while QPR won 2-1 at Southampton.

Breen quits Irish team
Tuesday 8th August 11:18

Gary Breen has retired from international football with Republic of Ireland.

Breen moves to Molineux
Thursday 20th July 12:04

Wolves have strengthened their squad with the capture of defender Gary Breen.

Kelly set for Irish debut
Tuesday 23rd May 13:22

Stephen Kelly will make his Republic of Ireland debut in Wednesday's friendly with Chile.

Black Cats call time on Breen
Wednesday 17th May 10:48

Sunderland have decided not to retain the services of Irish defender Gary Breen.

Staunton names 29 for Irish
Monday 8th May 13:53

Steve Staunton has selected a 29-man squad for Ireland's upcoming friendly with Chile.

Ball praises Breen commitment
Friday 24th March 14:08

Kevin Ball has praised defender Gary Breen's commitment and professionalism.

Breen future in doubt
Friday 17th March 09:22

Gary Breen's Sunderland future is reportedly in doubt after being snubbed as captain.

Samaras brace seals City win
Sunday 5th March 15:24

Georgios Samaras claimed a quickfire double as Manchester City beat Sunderland 2-1.

Features

Kevin Davies selects his five favourite footballers

Kevin Davies selects his five favourite footballers

We asked our football expert, former England international Kevin Davies, to name the his timeline of favourite footballers from boyhood idol to present day icon. Read on to find out his five selections...

Sergio Aguero and Diego Costa were Atletico Madrid team-mates but their routes to the top have been so different

Sergio Aguero and Diego Costa were Atletico Madrid team-mates but their routes to the top have been so different

With 64 goals between them last season, Sergio Aguero and Diego Costa are two of the game’s best strikers. Born just three months apart on opposite sides of the Argentina-Brazil border, they were even team-mates at Atletico Madrid. But the pair have taken very different routes to the top.

Champions League: Yaya Toure off the pace as Manchester City succumb to late goal against Bayern Munich

Champions League: Yaya Toure off the pace as Manchester City succumb to late goal against Bayern Munich

Vincent Kompany said earlier this week that Yaya Toure was "not far off" signing a new Manchester City deal; that's considerably closer than he got to any Bayern Munich midfielder on Wednesday night.

Experts & Blogs