Blogs & Opinion


Mike Atherton:

Most Popular Posts:

Opinion Archive:

Morgan's biggest Test

Athers expects a comfortable start to the summer for England

Mike Atherton - Michael Atherton Posted 24th May 2010 view comments

England take on Bangladesh at Lord's on Thursday in the first of their two-match Test series - and the result, I'm sad to say, is fairly predictable.

Eoin Morgan will make his debut, Steven Finn will make his home debut at his home ground and England will win comfortably within four days.

Bangladesh's bowling is not going to pose any threat and, although they have two or three batsmen with some ability, they are very flaky and everyone expects England to win.

Unconventional: Expect Morgan to play in a more orthodox fashion on his Test debut

Unconventional: Expect Morgan to play in a more orthodox fashion on his Test debut

They will want to win well, though. England will be looking to use these Test matches this summer as a pre-cursor for the Ashes and hopefully get a settled side, keep winning and make sure they're in good knick for the winter.

Although the World Twenty20 was a different form of the game, with a slightly different squad, England's impressive victory is the sort of thing that will bring confidence to the dressing room.

Marvellous Morgan

One of the chief beneficiaries of that tournament was Dubliner Morgan, who the selectors have taken a punt on.

"Finn has all the makings of a Test bowler. He is tall, he is quick and he looks the ideal bowler for Australia, and that's really why they want to play him now; to get a bit more experience into him before the winter."

Michael Atherton
Quotes of the week

England v Bangladesh
First Test

10am, Thurs, Sky Sports 1 & HD1

He only has a fairly modest First Class record but they have obviously seen plenty that they like in the way he plays and I believe his temperament at the crease will stand him in good stead in Test matches.

He looks a good player and I don't see why he wouldn't be able to transfer his talents in one form of the game to another.

I don't think you'll see him reverse sweeping and scooping the ball over fine leg in Test match cricket, but he has got plenty of other shots which are more orthodox and less risky. He has shown he also has plenty of power too, which is no bad thing.

I can see no reason why he wouldn't be successful with the Test team.

Potential

Similarly, I think Finn has all the makings of a Test bowler. He is tall, he is quick and he looks the ideal bowler for Australia, and that's really why they want to play him now; to get a bit more experience into him before the winter.

He bowled well in Bangladesh but there was absolutely nothing in the pitch for him. There will be a lot more pace and bounce this week at Lord's and that will suit Finn.

It will also disconcert the Bangladesh batsmen, who aren't used to that sort of thing. I'm sure Finn can expect to enjoy a bit more success here than he did in the sub-continent.

Skipper Strauss returns

The Test will also see the return of captain Andrew Strauss to the team. I still think it was wrong for him to step aside for such a long time, just one year into the job.

Sport changes pretty quickly, things happen, people move on and you can quickly get forgotten, so I think that adds a bit of unnecessary pressure on him.

But it's a decision he made. Strauss has a fairly solid temperament, he has been around a fair bit and I don't think he will have trouble adjusting back.

He may feel he has missed out a bit with the World Twenty20 and it might be slightly awkward for him coming back, but the opposition are going to be so easy I don't think there are going to be any problems.

Comments (11)

  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1

Fayaz Shah says...

I think tim bresnan have tough competition with broad , onion and his county man shahzad , It would be amazing that he would stand as an all-rounder or bowler .AS u see that broad and shahzad are good decent all-rounder , and yesterday and today he didn't pick wicket , and bangladeshi openers played him very well .Though , he is good bowler in ODI .......

Posted 19:58 29th May 2010

Pat Cawley says...

Bangladesh might not be the strongest side but they won't be push overs, either. They might be underdogs but will score runs if England doesn't bowl effectively. Here in Ireland we are all quite excited today at the prospect of Eoin Morgan playing the first of what hopefully will be many a test match for England; to see him do well for England will paradoxically have Ireland seen in a more positive cricketing light, for he will demonstrate that the Irish too can produce good quality cricket players.

Posted 09:36 27th May 2010

Simon Heath says...

What does Luke Wright have to do to get a chance at test level?? He went on tour during the winter and was called the new 'Freddie'. Although he didnt get a chance to play. He was one of England's better players in tghe T20 world cup ( although he only bowled the one over ). He is a better all rounder's prospect than Bresnan in my opinion and deserves his chance. On another note,, well done swanny..... keep up the good work!!!!!!

Posted 00:09 27th May 2010

Craig Atkinson says...

If Anderson is 'one of the worst bowlers that you have ever seen' Antony James then i would suggest that you have not seen many bowlers and, or, know very little about cricket. I think that we should trust Andy Flower on selection and who needs rest. We do hold the Ashes, are world T20 champions, drew test series in SA and beat them in ODi's. Not a bad recent record in my humble opinion.

Posted 19:16 26th May 2010

Abid Hassan says...

What about Ajmal Shahzad last year he jumped a very big leap and was picked for England he has proved that he is one of the best all rounders and one of the best fast bowlers going , he proved it in dubai against Pakistan when he debut he left his mark. When does he get a chance or is he left on the shelf give him a go.

Posted 10:35 26th May 2010

Kevin Connor says...

Jimmy Anderson is a World Class bowler. That he didn't play in the T20 World Cup is hardly his fault. Try asking the team selectors that one. Everyone is, of course, entitled to his opinion albeit that it's misguided.

Posted 08:58 26th May 2010

Antony James says...

dont know why england keep picking james anderson he is one of the worst bowlers i have ever seen and if he is picked for the ashes then england shouldnt even turn up theres better bowlers than him broad sidebottom bresnan finn coakes then getting a 20-20 medal and didnt even play in what a joke.

Posted 18:52 25th May 2010

Kaustubh Verma says...

A 2 test series at the start of an English Summer against the poorest Test Side in the world..Is this preparation or unpreparation for the Ashes. It would be best if England start playing tougher teams like India and South Africa at home before the Ashes....! Looks like Bangaladesh has an away series coming up in Australia....

Posted 12:19 25th May 2010

Alex Folwell says...

I don't understand why Broad needs a rest. He said he wasn't going to the IPL so he could have a rest, why rest him again a month later? Finn looks a great prospect - the new McGrath?

Posted 11:10 25th May 2010

Sean Hynes says...

I don't agree with resting some key players for this series. Broad and so on have bent their backs none stop for 18 months or so, now the chance to improve their averages agasint a weak team and their resting ? This seems unfair to me.

Posted 01:36 25th May 2010

Ian Gatward says...

I feel very uneasy still over this rotation business in test cricket. It should be a privelige to play for your country and yet it is starting to feel like a club side. Surely the administrators should look more closely at the scheduling of matches and also why are we playing 5 odi's against Australia when we are playing them in the winter

Posted 12:50 24th May 2010

  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1

back to top

Other Cricket Experts:

Latest Posts in Cricket:

Latest News RSS feeds

Div One: Bright start for Lancs

Lancashire bowled relegation rivals Middlesex out for 214 on the opening day of their crucial fixture at Old Trafford.

Div Two: Wickets tumble

Essex dominated the opening day against Worcestershire as Hampshire hit back after a disastrous start at Sophia Gardens.

Cook set to stay as captain

Alastair Cook is set to be confirmed as England's one-day captain, through to the end of the World Cup, on Wednesday.

Jimmy: No excuses for England

Jimmy Anderson says England will have no excuses over preparation if they fail to produce at next year's World Cup.

Lara: Windies need big changes

Brian Lara says West Indies cricket must make big changes if they are to recover their former glories

Features

Chris Woakes masterclass

Chris Woakes masterclass

Cricketer Chris Woakes gave a 'bowling under pressure' masterclass on this week's Game Changers.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: our pundits pick their England starting XIs

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: our pundits pick their England starting XIs

England’s World Cup campaign begins in a little over five months’ time when they take on co-hosts Australia at the MCG.

Sky Sports reviews the week in sport with the best and worst performances

Sky Sports reviews the week in sport with the best and worst performances

Some big prizes were handed out this week but, as always, for every gloating winner there are a number of losers counting their losses.