Blogs & Opinion


Dewi Morris:

Most Popular Posts:

Opinion Archive:

Licensed to thrill

Dewi pays tribute to England's turnaround

Dewi Morris Posted 16th November 2010 view comments

How far England have come in twelve months! In my column last week I spoke about England's attitude in defeat where they were beaten but not unbowed. This week they built on that and were terrific.

I remember a year ago when we played against Argentina where I was pitch side. The players were getting abuse and Martin Johnson was getting abuse by the crowd because they were not playing any rugby.

a superb performance from Youngs

a superb performance from Youngs

The frustration from the players that day was obvious - it seemed they could talk it but they were not allowed to express themselves. That has totally changed and they are totally unrecognisable from the side that was booed 12 months ago.

They have got a licence to thrill now; it is like James Bond has taking over and told them to show us what they have got.

All in all a phenomenal display from an England side that has showed potential in Sydney, showed bravery against the All Blacks and then showed incredible pace against the paciest attacking force in the Southern Hemisphere.

Dewi Morris
Quotes of the week

It all started from my old position with Ben Youngs who is going to get the credit for a brilliant display - he certainly deserves it but he need to keep his feet on the ground though. I know his father very well and that will happen. Youngs will get better and better.

Courtney Lawes and Tom Palmer were magnificent - in fact you can go on and on because everyone stood out for me. To a man they went out and embraced the new England. The giant has woken and long may they rise and grow.

It has been frustrating to see all the talent on display in the Premiership and in the Heineken Cup but never seeing it transform England - on Saturday we did! It was a stunning performance against a hell of a good Aussie side - they scored two blistering tries themselves but there was no panic from England and they had this aura of total belief.

All in all a phenomenal display from an England side that has showed potential in Sydney, showed bravery against the All Blacks and then showed incredible pace against the paciest attacking force in the Southern Hemisphere.

They have got to back that up against Samoa who will be strong a round the fringes. England will have to be brave and take them on at their own game. If they do that then there won't be any issues. England then take on South Africa the following week and England should be looking at a 3-1 win deficit in the autumn. That would be a fantastic springboard for them build on for the World Cup.

Comments (5)

  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1

Dave Legend says...

any englishmen in that team. hartley,furry,hape even mike catt was a foreigner

Posted 11:05 19th November 2010

Matthew Todd says...

people seem to be forgetting it was ben youngs that got man of the match in the england game..yes ashton scored the tries the 2nd of which we all know was amazing, however the catalyst for the performance as a whole was youngs and he is union born and bred

Posted 19:39 18th November 2010

Gareth Hopley says...

Max Wardley, Matthew tait? Really? based on what? I love the idea of great runners who attack space, but he has NEVER played well for England. And don't say the RWC final 2007, that was one run, not a great game. He doesn't even look good for Sale. He used to look fantastic in the 7s, when he automatically had the space, but that is it. I wanted him to be the next great thing as much as the next guy, but he wasn't. We tried him, he wasn't good enough, and it's time to move on, best to look at others. John Clarke, Dominic Waldouck, or even D. Armitage in the centre.

Posted 14:13 18th November 2010

Max Wardley says...

I'd still find a place for Matthew tait , alot better than hape

Posted 14:13 17th November 2010

John Newcombe says...

Refreshing perfomances during the weekend internationals.Just worth a mention that two of the outstanding displays of these games came from players who developed in Rugby League first.....Sonny Bill & Chris Ashton.

Posted 10:36 17th November 2010

  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1

back to top

Other Rugby Union Experts:

Latest Posts in Rugby Union:

Jonathan Davies

Davies: High tempo

Jonathan Davies blogs on injuries, his team's tempo and catching up with Welsh opponents after games....

Latest News RSS feeds

Managed schedule for Warburton

Cardiff boss Mark Hammett insists Sam Warburton’s workload will be managed with the player’s best interests at heart.

Barnes: Five-star Bath

Bath's demolition of Leicester was the highlight for Stuart Barnes after a fascinating weekend of rugby.

Missed flight costs Cruden

New Zealand have axed Aaron Cruden after the fly-half missed the team's flight to Argentina.

Ospreys continue perfect start

The Ospreys are top of the Guinness PRO12 table following an emphatic 62-13 mauling of Edinburgh.

Late bonus for Saints

Northampton returned to winning ways in the Aviva Premiership with a 35-10 triumph over Newcastle Falcons.

Features

The Off Load: The best and worst from the world of rugby

The Off Load: The best and worst from the world of rugby

There was loads of great rugby to enjoy over the weekend including some PRO12 upsets and some controversial refereeing.

Sky Sports reviews the week in sport with the best and worst performances

Sky Sports reviews the week in sport with the best and worst performances

Another seven days of sport have offered up a gamut of emotions. As the dust settles, Sky Sports sifts through it all to bring you the heroes and villains of the past week.

The Off Load: The best and worst from the world of rugby

The Off Load: The best and worst from the world of rugby

Trouble is brewing in Toulouse as Clermont Auvergne inflict another loss on the giants of French rugby.