Home team Score Away Team


  • Lockyer, Tate, Smith, Tonga (2), Slater, Cronk, Morris,
    Goals: Smith (5),
42 - 0

Papua New Guinea

  • Gillette Four Nations
  • Group Stage
  • 24th Oct 2010
  • KO 06:00

Australia v PNG: Teams

Australia v Papua New Guinea, Parramatta, Sunday Oct. 24, KO 6am BST

Last updated: 23rd October 2010   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Australia v PNG: Teams

Tuqiri: 67 caps for Wallabies

Related links


Also see

Dual-code international Lote Tuqiri will return to the Australia side for the first time in eight years against Papua New Guinea in Sydney on Sunday.

Tuqiri won the last of his five caps for the Kangaroos in 2002 before switching codes. He went on to be capped 67 times by the Wallabies, scoring 30 tries.

The 6ft3in wing goes straight into the Australia side two days after replacing the injured Jarryd Hayne in the squad.

Tuqiri only returned to the 13-a-side code earlier this year with Wests Tigers after playing union for NSW Waratahs and Leicester Tigers.

Australia have also handed debuts to Canberra forward Tom Learoyd-Lahrs and Sydney Roosters prop Nate Myles.

But former Catalans Dragons captain Greg Bird and Dally M medallist Todd Carney are both missing from the final squad.

England connection

Papua New Guinea coach Stanley Gene has picked five England-based players in his team for the Parramatta clash.

Michael Mark (Hunslet), Jessie Joe Parker (Featherstone) and Menzie Yere (Sheffield) all feature in the Kumuls' three-quarter line, while Halifax's Makali Aizue will win his 21st cap in the front row.

Hunslet hooker Charlie Wabo, who made his international debut against England in the 2008 World Cup, will be on the bench.

Australia: Billy Slater, Brett Morris, Brent Tate, Willie Tonga, Lote Tuqiri, Darren Lockyer (captain), Cooper Cronk, Paul Gallen, Sam Thaiday, Luke Lewis, Petero Civoniceva, Cameron Smith, Nate Myles.
Replacements: David Shillington, Tom Learoyd-Lahrs, Anthony Watmough, Kurt Gidley, Darius Boyd, Matt Scott (two to be omitted)

Papua New Guinea: Ryan Tongia, Michael Mark, Jessy Joe Parker, Emmanuel Yere, Elijah Riyong. Glen Nami, Dion Aiye, Makali Aizue, Benjamin John, George Moni, Rodney Griffin, David Loko, Paul Aiton (captain)
Replacements: Charlie Wabo, Nickson Kolo, Johnson Kuike, Larsen Marabe, Pidi Tongap, Alex Haija, Richard Kambo (three to be omitted)

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs



Read the thoughts and opinions of Stevo with skysports.com