Home team Away Team


  • Penalty goals: Grant (2), Pietersen (3),
15 - 12


  • Penalty goals: Lambie (4),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 3rd Mar 2012
  • KO 17:10
  • Ground: Fedsure Park

Sharks v Stormers: Teams

At Newlands Stadium, Saturday March 3, kick-off 5.10pm

Last updated: 1st March 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Sharks v Stormers: Teams

Jacques Botes: A new addition to the Sharks starting XV

Related links


Also see

The Sharks have made four changes for their derby clash with the Stormers on Saturday.

Ahead of the Newlands showdown, coach Jon Plumtree has adjusted the side that suffered defeat to the Bulls, with Ross Skeate, Meyer Bosman, Wiehahn Herbst and Jacques Botes all starting.

Ryan Kankowski is sidelined for a month after a thumb operation, while Anton Bresler, Tim Whitehead and Jannie du Plessis will also miss out.

Plumtree said: "Up front, we want to give Wiehahn Herbst an opportunity, he's had a really good pre-season and it's a good time for him.

"It's the same with Ross Skeate who comes in to the second-row. We've had to make a change amongst the loose-forwards obviously with Ryan Kankowski out and with Jacques Botes playing really well against the Bulls last week, he gets a chance.


"It's disappointing for us that Willem Alberts hasn't made it this week, but Tera (Lubabalo) Mtembu has done pretty well in the pre-season, so it's an opportunity for him as well."

The Stormers have also named a changed starting XV as Juan de Jongh makes a return after missing the opening win with a jaw injury.

As a result Bryan Habana returns to his usual berth on the left wing and Gerhard van den Heever drops down to the bench.

Other notable changes include flanker Siya Kolisi replacing skipper Schalk Burger, who tore knee ligaments last Sunday, and fly-half Peter Grant, who returns from Japan and will take his place on the bench as cover for Gary van Aswegen.

Sharks: 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Louis Ludik, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Frederic Michalak, 8 Keegan Daniel (capt), 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Ross Skeate, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Wiehahn Herbst, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Dale Chadwick.
Replacements: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Anton Bresler, 19 Lubabalo Mtembu, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Marius Joubert, 22 Paul Jordaan.

Stormers: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Gary van Aswegen, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Nick Koster, 7 Duane Vermeulen, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Frans Malherbe, 18 De Kock Steenkamp, 19 Nizaam Carr, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Peter Grant, 22 Gerhard van den Heever.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com