Home team Away Team


  • Strauss,
    Penalty goals: Goosen (4),
    Conversions: Goosen,
19 - 51


  • Engelbrecht, Kirchner (2), Kruger, Greyling, Basson,
    Penalty goals: Steyn (3),
    Conversions: Steyn (6),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 3rd Mar 2012
  • KO 15:05

Cheetahs v Bulls: Teams

At Free State Stadium, Saturday March 3, kick-off 5.10pm

Last updated: 29th February 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Wynand Olivier

Wynand Olivier: Returns to the Bulls line-up

Philip Snyman cheetahs try v pumas

Philip Snyman: Starts for the Cheetahs against the Bulls

Related links


Also see

The Cheetahs have made two changes to their line-up for the visit of the Bulls to Bloemfontein on Saturday.

Willie le Roux and Philip Snyman come into the side following the 27-25 defeat to the Lions in their opening game of the new season.

Le Roux replaces the injured Dusty Noble (knee) on the wing, while Snyman comes in for the suspended Andries Strauss.

South Africa centre Wynand Olivier comes straight back into the Bulls line-up after he returned from injury.


Olivier missed the opening-day win over the Sharks, but he makes a timely comeback - with Johann Sadie facing three weeks out with a shoulder injury.

And coach Frans Ludeke is pleased to have Olivier, the most capped South African centre in Super Rugby with 87 appearances, available once again.

"One always wants to have all your first-choice players available, especially against an opponent as tough as the Cheetahs," said Ludeke.

"Wynand is the second most experienced player in the side, so we are delighted to have him back. We have lost some fine players to injury in the last couple of weeks, so it is great to have one of our international players back and ready for action."

Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Rocco Jansen, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Philip Snyman, 11 Willie le Roux, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Tewis de Bruyn, 8 Davon Raubenheimer, 7 Philip van der Walt, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Izak van der Westhuizen, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Trevor Nyakane.
Replacements: 16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 Lourens Adriaanse, 18 Waltie Vermeulen, 19 Ashley Johnson, 20 Piet van Zyl, 21 Sias Ebersohn, 22 Cameron Jacobs.

Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Wynand Olivier, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies (c), 7 Jaques Potgieter, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Dean Greyling
Replacements: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19 CJ Stander, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Louis Fouche, 22 JJ Engelbrecht.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com