Home team Away Team


  • Hore, Gear,
    Penalty goals: Noakes (3),
    Conversions: Delany,
21 - 27


  • Nanai-Williams, Robinson,
    Penalty goals: Cruden (5),
    Conversions: Cruden,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 29th Jun 2012
  • KO 08:35
  • Ground: Forsyth Barr, Dunedin

Highlanders v Chiefs: Teams

At Forsyth Barr Stadium, Friday June 29, kick-off 8.35am

Last updated: 28th June 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Sam Cane try All Blacks v Ireland 2012

Sam Cane: Named on the bench for the Chiefs

Jason Rutledge taking on Cheetahs for Highlanders

Jason Rutledge: Will start against the Chiefs

Related links


Also see

The Highlanders have made five changes to their line-up as they return to action against the table-topping Chiefs on Friday.

After a month-long break for the international fixtures, coach Jamie Joseph has made four of the alterations to his pack - with prop Ma'afu Fia, hooker Jason Rutledge, lock Nick Crosswell and flanker Tim Boys all starting.

Chris King, Andrew Hore, Josh Bekhuis and James Haskell all miss out, while the final change comes in the backs, with Kade Poki coming in on the wing in place of Kurt Baker.

Rising New Zealand star Sam Cane will return to action for the Chiefs from the bench.

The talented openside, who saw his stock rise during the three-Test series against Ireland, makes way in the Chiefs XV for Tanerau Latimer.

Cane will be in good company on the bench, with fellow All Blacks Sonny Bill Williams, Liam Messam, Brodie Retallick and Hika Elliot also named among the replacements.

Aaron Cruden, who was forced off in the 60-0 third Test rout of Ireland, has been passed fit to start, while Tim Nanai-Williams also returns from injury to play on the wing.

Highlanders: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Kade Poki, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Phil Burleigh, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Chris Noakes, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Nasi Manu, 7 Tim Boys, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Nick Crosswell, 4 Jarrad Hoeata, 3 Ma'afu Fia, 2 Jason Rutledge, 1 Jamie Mackintosh (c).
Replacements: 16 Andrew Hore, 17 Chris King, 18 Josh Bekhuis, 19 James Haskell, 20 Jimmy Cowan, 21 Mike Delany, 22 Buxton Popoali'i.

Chiefs: 15 Robbie Robinson, 14 Tim Nanai-Williams, 13 Willison Jackson, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Kane Thompson, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Craig Clarke (c), 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Mahonri Schwalger, 1 Toby Smith.
Replacements: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Sona Taumalolo, 18 Michael Fitzgerald, 19 Sam Cane, 20 Brendon Leonard, 21 Andrew Horrell, 22 Lelia Masaga.

Click here for more betting
Forthcoming Super Rugby Fixtures
Super Rugby
Friday 6th March
Super Rugby
06:35Chiefs vs Highlanders
08:40Brumbies vs Western Force
Saturday 7th March
06:35Blues vs Lions
08:40Reds vs Waratahs
15:05Cheetahs vs Bulls
17:10Stormers vs Sharks
Friday 13th March
06:35Hurricanes vs Blues
11:00Western Force vs Melbourne Rebels
Saturday 14th March
03:30Crusaders vs Lions
06:35Highlanders vs Waratahs
08:40Reds vs Brumbies
13:00Stormers vs Chiefs
15:05Cheetahs vs Sharks
Friday 20th March
06:35Highlanders vs Hurricanes
08:40Melbourne Rebels vs Lions
Saturday 21st March
06:35Crusaders vs Cheetahs
15:05Bulls vs Western Force
17:10Sharks vs Chiefs
Sunday 22nd March
05:05Waratahs vs Brumbies
Friday 27th March
06:35Hurricanes vs Melbourne Rebels
09:00Reds vs Lions
Saturday 28th March
05:30Chiefs vs Cheetahs
06:35Highlanders vs Stormers
08:40Waratahs vs Blues
15:05Sharks vs Western Force

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com