Home team Away Team


  • Aplon, van den Heever, Sinclair,
    Penalty goals: Grant (2),
    Conversions: Grant (3),
27 - 17


  • van der Merwe, Strauss,
    Penalty goals: Jantjies,
    Conversions: Jantjies (2),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 30th Jun 2012
  • KO 16:05
  • Ground: Fedsure Park

Stormers v Lions: Teams

At Newlands, Saturday June 30, kick-off 4.05pm

Last updated: 28th June 2012  

Carlos Spencer Lions white

Carlos Spencer: Will share the coaching duties for the Lions

Tyrone Holmes

Tyrone Holmes: Will make his Stormers debut

Related links


Also see

Tyrone Holmes will make his debut for the Stormers in Saturday's clash against the under-fire Lions.

With Duane Vermeulen, Schalk Burger, Nick Koster and Rynhardt Elstadt all unavailable, Western Province loose forward Holmes gets his first chance.

There is also a first start for Don Armand after four appearances off the bench, while Siya Kolisi has been handed the No.8 jersey and Jebb Sinclair is named in the bench.

Joe Pietersen, Andries Bekker and Deon Fourie also come into the side for the South African Conference leaders.

With Lions coach John Mitchell suspended, Johan Ackermann and Carlos Spencer have been handed the reins for the trip to Newlands.

The caretaker duo have made two changes to the line-up with props Jacobie Adriaanse and JC Janse van Rensburg coming in for Pat Cilliers and CJ Van der Linde.

Stormers: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Gerhard van den Heever, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Siya Kolisi, 7 Don Armand, 6 Tyrone Holmes, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 De Kock Steenkamp, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 Deon Carstens.
Replacements: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Quinn Roux, 19 Jebb Sinclair, 20 Louis Schrueder, 21 Burton Francis, 22 Bryan Habana.

Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Deon van Rensburg, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Butch James, 11 Anthonie Volminck, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Joshua Strauss (c), 7 Grant Hattingh, 6 Derick Minnie, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Hendrik Roodt, 3 Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg
Replacements: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 CJ van der Linde/Ruaan Dreyer, 18 Ruan Botha, 19 Jaco Kriel, 20 Michael Bondesio, 21 Waylon Murray, 22 Ruan Combrinck.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com