Home team Away Team


  • Slipper,
    Penalty goals: Harris (4),
    Conversions: Harris,
19 - 13


  • King, Thomson,
    Penalty goals: Delany,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 6th Jul 2012
  • KO 10:40
  • Ground: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Reds v Highlanders: Teams

At Suncorp Stadium, Friday July 6, kick-off 10.40am

Last updated: 5th July 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

mike delany

Mike Delany: Teaming up with Jimmy Cowan at half-back

Beau Robinson close up at Wallabies training

Beau Robinson: Will start on the openside

Related links


Also see

The Reds will continue their late assault on the play-off places when they tackle the Highlanders on Friday.

The defending champions have put their slow start to the season behind them with a run of four wins on the bounce seeing them locked in a battle for the two final spots.

Coach Ewen McKenzie has been forced into just the one change following the 32-17 win against the Rebels last time out, with Beau Robinson replacing the sidelined Liam Gill on the openside.

There are further changes on the bench, with Ben Tapuai returning from injury and Jarrad Butler poised to make his debut.

The Highlanders, who are all but out of the play-off race after their 27-21 loss to the Chiefs last time out, have made five changes for the trip to Brisbane.

Jimmy Cowan and Mike Delany will team up in a new-look half-back combination, while Siale Piutau replaces the injured Tamati Ellison in the centres.

In the pack England international James Haskell and experienced hooker Andrew Hore both return.

Reds: 15 Luke Morahan, 14 Dom Shipperley, 13 Anthony Faingaa, 12 Mike Harris, 11 Chris F'Sautia, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Scott Higginbotham, 7 Beau Robinson, 6 Jake Schatz, 5 Adam Wallace-Harrison, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 James Slipper, 2 Saia Faingaa, 1 Greg Holmes.
Replacements: 16 James Hanson, 17 Ben Daley, 18 Radike Samo, 19 Jarrad Butler, 20 Ben Lucas, 21 Ben Tapuai, 22 Nick Frisby.

Highlanders: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Kade Poki, 13 Siale Piutau, 12 Phil Burleigh, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Mike Delany, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Nasi Manu, 7 James Haskell, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Nick Crosswell, 4 Josh Bekhuis, 3 Ma'afu Fia, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Jamie Mackintosh (capt).
Replacements: 16 Jason Rutledge, 17 Chris King, 18 Jarrad Hoeata, 19 Tim Boys, 20 Aaron Smith, 21 Chris Noakes, 22 Kenny Lynn.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com