Aviva Premiership: London Irish v London Welsh match preview

Last updated: 20th April 2013  

gordon ross northampton london welsh

Gordon Ross: Will make his 100th Premiership appearance on Saturday

Chris HalaUfia

Chris Hala'ufia: Returns to bolster London Irish on Saturday

Related links






Also see

London Irish welcome back all-action No 8 Chris Hala'ufia for Saturday's Aviva Premiership clash with London Welsh at the Madejski Stadium.

Elsewhere, Marland Yarde is recalled to the wing, while Steven Shingler takes his place at inside centre alongside Guy Armitage.

England international Alex Corbisiero starts at loosehead and club captain, Declan Danaher, makes a welcome return from injury to be named amongst the replacements.

"Tomorrow is our last home match of the season and we are keen to put in a strong performance in front of our home supporters," said London Irish director of rugby Brian Smith.

"We have not lost at home in 2013 and we want to ensure that record stays intact after tomorrow. London Welsh will be determined to put in a good performance and we are ready to meet that challenge."


For London Welsh, both Gordon Ross and Daniel Browne will both make their 100th Premiership appearances after being named in the starting XV.

Ross made his Premiership debut for Leeds against Leicester Tigers at Headingley over a decade ago in August 2002, while Browne's first Premiership appearance came for Northampton at Leicester Tigers in September 2005.

Head coach Lyn Jones makes five changes in total after last weekend's defeat to Northampton Saints sealed London Welsh's return to the Championship next season.

All of those switches come in the backline, with Seb Stegmann starting at outside centre and Sonny Parker moving to the number 12 jersey to replace the injured Seb Jewell.

Nick Scott moves to number 14 jersey, with Dan Caprice named on the left wing, while Tyson Keats replaces Alex Davies at scrum half, who starts on the bench.

London Irish: 15 Tom Homer, 14 Marland Yarde, 13 Guy Armitage, 12 Steven Shingler, 11 Sailosi Tagicakibau, 10 Ian Humphreys, 9 Darren Allinson, 8 Chris Hala'ufia, 7 Ofisa Treviranus, 6 Matt Garvey, 5 Bryn Evans, 4 George Skivington (capt), 3 Halani Aulika, 2 David Paice, 1 Alex Corbisiero
Replacements: 16 Scott Lawson, 17 Jerry Yanuyanutawa, 18 Leo Halavatau, 19 Kieran Low, 20 Declan Danaher, 21 Topsy Ojo, 22 Shane Geraghty, 23 Jack Moates

London Welsh: 15 Tom Arscott, 14 Nick Scott, 13 Seb Stegmann, 12 Sonny Parker, 11 Dan Caprice, 10 Gordon Ross (capt), 9 Tyson Keats, 8 Daniel Browne, 7 Michael Hills, 6 Julio Cabello Farias, 5 Kirill Kulemin, 4 Matt Corker, 3 Paulica Ion, 2 Greg Bateman, 1 Tom Bristow
Replacements: 16 Dan George, 17 Arthur Joly, 18 James Tideswell, 19 Adam Brown, 20 Adam Balding, 21 Rob Lewis, 22 Alex Davies, 23 Joe Ajuwa

Click here for more betting