Home team Away Team

Cardiff Blues

  • Hewitt, Jones,
    Penalty goals: Sweeney, Tovey,
    Conversions: Sweeney,
18 - 24


  • Laulala, O'Donnell (2),
    Penalty goals: O'Gara,
    Conversions: O'Gara (3),
  • Guinness PRO12
  • 2nd Nov 2012
  • KO 19:05
  • Ground: Cardiff Arms Park
  • Att: 8,064

Cardiff v Munster - RaboDirect PRO12 match preview

Last updated: 2nd November 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Ronan OGara  Munster

Ronan O'Gara: Back from injury to start for Munster

phil davies cardiff blues coach

Phil Davies: Looking for a response from Cardiff Blues

Related links


Also see

Cardiff Blues face Munster in RaboDirect PRO12 action on Friday looking to arrest a run of five straight defeats in all competitions - their worst run since the 2004/05 season.

Last time out the Blues were thrashed 59-22 by a rampant Leinster and director of rugby Phil Davies is looking for his side to bounce back against more Irish opposition.

"It was clear for all to see that last weekend's game against Leinster wasn't a very positive night for us," stated Davies. "We all knew when we started in June that it would be a massive challenge.

"Looking at the game we have ahead of us, Munster, regardless of what fifteen they put on the pitch they are going to be hard and uncompromising up-front.

With most of his international contingent unavailable for selection, Munster coach Rob Penney once again rings the changes.

One player who has been released by Ireland is Ronan O'Gara and the fly-half returns from injury to take his place alongside scrum-half Duncan Williams.

Doug Howlett, rested for the Zebre game, returns on the wing, while Felix Jones retains the number 15 jersey.

Up front, Marcus Horan is the one change in the front-row; Dave Foley and Billy Holland form a new partnership in the engine room, while Tommy O'Donnell makes his full senior debut at number eight..

Cardiff Blues: 15 Dan Fish,14 Tom Williams, 13 Gavin Evans, 12 Dafydd Hewitt, 11 Tom James, 10 Jason Tovey, 9 Lewis Jones, 8 Andries Pretorius (c), 7 Josh Navidi, 6 Robin Copeland, 5 James Down, 4 Lou Reed, 3 Taufa'ao Filise, 2 Rhys Williams, 1 Campese Ma'afu.

Replacements: 16 Andi Kyriacou, 17 Sam Hobbs, 18 Ryan Harford, 19 Macauley Cook, 20 Luke Hamilton, 21 Rob Lewis, 22 Ceri Sweeney, 23 Owen Williams

Munster: 15 Felix Jones, 14 Doug Howlett (c), 13 Casey Laulala, 12 Ian Keatley, 11 Luke O'Dea, 10 Ronan O'Gara, 9 Duncan Williams, 8 Tommy O'Donnell, 7 Sean Dougall, 6 Dave O'Callaghan, 5 Billy Holland, 4 Dave Foley, 3 Stephen Archer, 2 Mike Sherry, 1 Marcus Horan.

Replacements: 16 Damian Varley, 17 John Ryan, 18 Wian du Preez, 19 Ian Nagle, 20 Patrick Butler, 21 Peter Stringer, 22 Danny Barnes, 23 Johne Murphy

Click here for more betting

Guinness PRO12 Table

Guinness PRO12 Table - December 28 2014
Pos Team P Pts
11 Zebre 11 9

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com