Home team Away Team

Southern Kings

  • Peterson, Engelbrecht,
    Penalty goals: Catrakilis (4),
    Conversions: Catrakilis,
24 - 35


  • Masaga (3), Cane,
    Penalty goals: Anscombe (3),
    Conversions: Anscombe (3),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 15th Mar 2013
  • KO 17:10

Southern Kings v Chiefs - Super Rugby match preview

Last updated: 14th March 2013  

Liam Messam on a run for Chiefs

Liam Messam: Set to make his 100th appearance for the Chiefs

Jacques Engelbrecht Southern Kings 2013

Jacques Engelbrecht: Passed fit to play

Related links





Also see

The Southern Kings have opted against making any changes for Friday's clash with defending Super Rugby champions the Chiefs.

With captain Luke Watson missing with a throat injury, the Kings have named the same XV from the 21-12 loss to the Sharks.

Winger Michael Killian is also on the sidelines after aggravating an arm injury in training however Jacques Engelbrecht has been passed fit to start.

Liam Messam will become the first player to rack up 100 Super Rugby appearances for the Chiefs in Port Elizabeth.

Messam made his debut against the Sharks in 2006 and has gone on to become a key figure in the line-up ever since.

While Messam will be bringing up his century, former All Black and Crusaders forward Ross Filipo makes his Chiefs debut as one of a number of changes made by coach Dave Rennie.

Prop Toby Smith, lock Michael Fitzgerald, back-row Tanerau Latimer and centre Andrew Horrell also come into the starting XV as the Chiefs look to bounce back from their loss to the Bulls.

Kings: 15 SP Marais, 14 Marcello Sampson, 13 Ronnie Cooke, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Sergeal Petersen, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Jacques Engelbrecht, 7 Wimpie van der Walt, 6 Cornell du Preez, 5 Steven Sykes, 4 Darron Nell (c), 3 Kevin Buys, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 Schalk Ferreira.
Replacements: 16 Edgar Marutlulle, 17 Jaco Engels, 18 David Bulbring, 19 Daniel Adongo, 20 Nicolas Vergallo, 21 George Whitehead, 22 Hadleigh Parkes.

Chiefs: 15 Gareth Anscombe, 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Tim Nanai-Williams, 12 Andrew Horrell, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Ross Filipo, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Michael Fitzgerald, 4 Craig Clarke (c), 3 Ben Afeaki, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Toby Smith.
Replacements: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Pauliasi Manu, 18 Brodie Retallick, 19 Sam Cane, 20 Augustine Pulu, 21 Charlie Ngatai, 22 Patrick Osborne.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com