Home team Away Team


  • Cooper, Lance,
    Penalty goals: Cooper (3),
    Conversions: Cooper (2),
23 - 18


  • Penalty goals: Steyn, Fouche (5),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 23rd Mar 2013
  • KO 08:40
  • Ground: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Reds v Bulls - Super Rugby match preview

Last updated: 23rd March 2013  

Louis Fouche

Louis Fouche: One of nine changes made by the Bulls

James Horwill Reds v Sharks 2012

James Horwill: Back to full fitness

Related links


Also see

James Horwill will make his long-awaited return to action when the Reds entertain the Bulls on Saturday.

The Australia lock has been sidelined for 10 months, having torn his hamstring in the 13-12 victory over the Brumbies on May 26.

Horwill, though, has been passed fit to skipper the side, with Reds making five changes in total.

Hooker James Hanson, flanker Jarrad Butler, winger Digby Ioane and centre Anthony Faingaa also come into the starting XV - with Nigel Ah Wong and Curtis Browning poised to make their debuts off the bench.

Only six players who started the heavy loss to the Crusaders have been retained in the Bulls line-up by coach Frans Ludeke.

Zane Kirchner, JJ Engelbrecht, Jano Vermaak, Pierre Spies, Deon Stegmann and Morne Mellett all keep their places for the trip to Brisbane.

Lionel Mapoe, Bjorn Basson, Francois Venter and Louis Fouche come in the back division, while Dewald Potgieter, Grant Hattingh, Paul Willemse, Chiliboy Ralepelle and Werner Kruger are added to the pack.

Reds: 15 Jono Lance, 14 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 13 Anthony Faingaa, 12 Ben Tapuai, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Jake Schatz, 7 Jarrad Butler, 6 Eddie Quirk, 5 James Horwill (c), 4 Ed O'Donoghue, 3 James Slipper, 2 James Hanson, 1 Greg Holmes.
Replacements: 16 Saia Faingaa, 17 Albert Anae, 18 Rob Simmons, 19 Curtis Browning, 20 Nigel Ah Wong, 21 Nick Frisby, 22 Mike Harris.

Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Lionel Mapoe, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Louis Fouché, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Pierre Spies (c), 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Grant Hattingh, 4 Paul Willemse, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Morné Mellet.
Replacements: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Juandré Kruger, 19 Jacques Potgieter, 20 Ruan Snyman, 21 Morné Steyn, 22 Jan Serfontein.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com