Home team Away Team


  • Pisi, Shields, Allen,
    Penalty goals: Barrett,
    Conversions: Barrett (2),
22 - 16

Western Force

  • Mathewson,
    Penalty goals: Hayward (3),
    Conversions: Hayward,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 19th Apr 2013
  • KO 08:35
  • Ground: Westpac Trust Stadium

Hurricanes v Western Force - Super Rugby match preview

Last updated: 18th April 2013  

Kieran Longbottom Western Force 2013

Kieran Longbottom: Named in the Western Force squad

Jack Lam Hurricanes 2013

Jack Lam: Returns to the Hurricanes line-up

Related links






Also see

Hurricanes coach Mark Hammett has responded to his side's heavy loss to the Blues by making four changes for Friday's visit of the Western Force.

The Hurricanes were thumped 28-6 last time out - and it is in the pack Hammett has opted to freshen up.

Jack Lam, Jeremy Thrush and Jeffery Toomaga-Allen are all handed starts, while Chris Smylie is handed the No 9 jersey.

Ardie Savea, Jason Eaton and TJ Perenara are all rested, while Victor Vito (calf) and Ben May (elbow) are ruled out through injury. Dan Coles had been due to start but he is now facing a spell out with a fractured eye socket.

The Force are boosted by the return of centre Winston Stanley.

Stanley comes in to the midfield as one of four changes, with prop Tetera Faulkner, flanker Angus Cottrell and winger Patrick Dellit also included in the starting XV.

Prop Kieran Longbottom makes his comeback off the bench, while hooker James Hilterbrand is in line to make his Super Rugby debut.

Hurricanes: 15 Beauden Barrett, 14 Alapati Leiua, 13 Conrad Smith (c), 12 Tim Bateman, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Tusi Pisi, 9 Chris Smylie, 8 Faifili Levave, 7 Brad Shields, 6 Jack Lam, 5 Mark Reddish, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 2 Motu Matu'u, 1 Ben Franks.
Replacements: 16 Ash Dixon, 17 Reggie Goodes, 18 James Broadhurst, 19 Karl Lowe, 20 TJ Perenara, 21 Reynold Lee-Lo, 22 Andre Taylor

Western Force: 15 Jayden Hayward, 14 Patrick Dellit, 13 Winston Stanley, 12 Junior Rasolea, 11 Ed Stubbs, 10 Sam Norton-Knight, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Richard Brown, 7 Matt Hodgson (c), 6 Angus Cottrell, 5 Sam Wykes, 4 Toby Lynn, 3 Tetera Faulkner, 2 Heath Tessmann, 1 Pek Cowan.
Replacements: 16 James Hilterbrand, 17 Kieran Longbottom, 18 Rory Walton, 19 Chris Alcock, 20 Mick Snowden, 21 Sias Ebersohn, 22 Alfie Mafi.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com