Home team Away Team


  • Folau, Ulugia, Crawford,
    Penalty goals: McKibbin (2),
    Conversions: McKibbin (2),
25 - 20


  • Anscombe, Tameifuna,
    Penalty goals: Anscombe (2),
    Conversions: Anscombe (2),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 19th Apr 2013
  • KO 10:40
  • Ground: Allianz Stadium

Waratahs v Chiefs - Super Rugby match preview

Last updated: 17th April 2013  

Andrew Horrell Chiefs v Highlanders SR 2013

Andrew Horrell: Named at full-back for the Chiefs

Cam Crawford hugging Israel Folau Waratahs 2013

Cam Crawford: Handed his Waratahs debut

Related links


Also see

Waratahs coach Michael Cheika has handed a debut to winger Cam Crawford for Friday's Super Rugby encounter against the Chiefs.

The 24-year-old joined the Waratahs in the off season from the Brumbies and he finally gets his chance after impressing for domestic side Northern Suburbs.

Crawford comes in as one of three changes, with hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau and No 8 Wycliff Palu also coming in the side.

Polota-Nau and Palu return after proving their fitness in the Shute Shield with Parramatta and Manly respectively.

Defending champions the Chiefs have opted to rotate their squad for the trip to Sydney.

Following the loss to the Reds last time out, Andrew Horrell, Lelia Masaga, Charlie Ngatai and Brendon Leonard come into the back division, with Richard Kahui switching to inside centre.

In the pack Pauliasi Manu and Fritz Lee are both handed starts. Lee's inclusion at No 8 means Liam Messam moves to the blindside and Tanerau Latimer drops to the bench.

Latimer is joined among the replacements by August Pulu, Gareth Anscombe and Tim Nanai-Williams.

Waratahs: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Cam Crawford, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Rob Horne, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Brendan McKibbin, 1 Benn Robinson, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 3 Sekope Kepu, 4 Sitaleki Timani, 5 Kane Douglas, 6 Dave Dennis (captain), 7 Michael Hooper, 8 Wycliff Palu. Replacements (from): 16 John Ulugia, 17 Paddy Ryan, 18 Mitchell Chapman, 19 Will Skelton, 20 Pat McCutcheon, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Ben Volavola, 23 Peter Betham.

Chiefs: 15 Andrew Horrell, 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Charlie Ngatai, 12 Richard Kahui, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Brendon Leonard, 1 Pauliasi Manu, 2 Hika Elliot, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 4 Michael Fitzgerald, 5 Brodie Retallick, 6 Liam Messam (capt), 7 Sam Cane, 8 Fritz Lee.
Replacements: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Michael Kainga, 18 Nick Crosswell, 19 Tanerau Latimer, 20 August Pulu, 21 Gareth Anscombe, 22 Tim Nanai-Williams.

What they said...

Chiefs coach Dave Rennie

"The Waratahs have one of the strongest teams in the compeititon on paper. They have been building well and will be a hell of a lot tougher at home. It is a big game for both teams coming off losses."

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com