Home team Away Team


  • Fruean, Taylor,
    Penalty goals: Bleyendaal (4),
    Conversions: Bleyendaal,
24 - 8


  • Emery,
    Penalty goals: Slade,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 20th Apr 2013
  • KO 08:35
  • Ground: AMI Stadium, Christchurch

Crusaders v Highlanders - Super Rugby match preview

Last updated: 19th April 2013  

Highlanders warming up
zac guildford crusaders kings

Zac Guildford: Returns on the wing

Related links


Also see

The Crusaders will look to bounce back from their shock defeat to the Western Force when they tackle the Highlanders at AMI Stadium on Saturday.

Coach Todd Blackadder, still smarting from the 16-14 loss in Perth, has made three changes for the encounter.

Lock Sam Whitelock and flanker Matt Todd come into the pack, while Zac Guildford returns on the wing.

With Dan Carter and Kieran Read both still sidelined, Tyler Bleyendaal and Luke Whitelock retain their shirts at fly-half and No 8 respectively.

Crusaders coach Todd Blackadder has made three changes to his starting line-up for the Super Rugby†clash against the Highlanders at AMI Stadium on Saturday.

The Highlanders have made six changes to their starting line-up.

Tony Woodcock, Chris King and Josh Bekhuis come into the pack, with Jarrad Hoeata switching to the blindside and TJ Ioane handed the No 8 jersey.

In the backs, scrum-half Aaron Smith, centre Jason Emery and winger Tony Ensor all start.

Crusaders: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Tom Marshall, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 Matt Todd, 6 George Whitelock (c), 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Replacements: 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Joe Moody, 18 Dominic Bird, 19 Jordan Taufua, 20 Willi Heinz, 21 Tom Taylor, 22 Adam Whitelock.

Highlanders: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Tony Ensor, 13 Jason Emery, 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Hayden Parker, 9 Aaron Smith, 1 Tony Woodcock, 2 Andrew Hore (capt), 3 Chris King, 4 Brad Thorn, 5 Josh Bekhuis, 6 Jarrad Hoeata, 7 John Hardie, 8 TJ Ioane.
Replacements: 16 Liam Coltman, 17 Ma'afu Fia, 18 Jamie Mackintosh, 19 Elliot Dixon, 20 Fumiaka Tanaka, 21 Colin Slade, 22 Jake Paringatai.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com