Home team Away Team

Southern Kings

  • Peterson, Petersen,
    Penalty goals: Catrakilis, Catrakilis,
    Conversions: Catrakilis, Catrakilis,
10 - 72


  • Betham (2), Crawford (3), Dennis, Douglas, Folau, Hooper, Kingston, Volavola, Folau, Betham (2), Dennis, Douglas, Hooper, Kingston, Crawford (3), Volavola,
    Penalty goals: McKibbin, McKibbin,
    Conversions: Lucas (2), McKibbin (5), McKibbin (5), Lucas (2),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 4th May 2013
  • KO 16:10

Southern Kings v Waratahs - Super Rugby match preview

Last updated: 2nd May 2013  

Peter Betham Waratahs 2013

Peter Betham: Back on the wing

Sergeal Petersen of the Southern Kings on his way to the try line

Sergeal Petersen: Passed fit for the Kings

Related links





Also see

The Southern Kings have made one change to their line-up for Saturday's Super Rugby clash with the Waratahs.

Having missed the last two games with to a groin strain, teenage winger Sergeal Petersen makes a welcome return to action.

Michael Killian drops out of the squad a s a result, with Nicolas Vergallo, Waylon Murray and Siviwe Soyizwapi covering the back positions on the bench.

Luke Watson remains among the replacements so Andries Strauss retains the captaincy.

Peter Betham returns to the Waratahs side for the trip to Port Elizabeth.

Betham is preferred on the wing to Tom Kingston, who initially drops to an eight-man bench - with one player to drop out of the squad before the game.

Sydney University lock Will Skelton is also named among the replacements, with the 21-year-old poised to make his debut.

Kings: 15 George Whitehead, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ronnie Cooke, 12 Andries Strauss (captain), 11 Siyanda Grey, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Jacques Engelbrecht, 7 Wimpie van der Walt, 6 Cornell du Preez, 5 Rynier Bernado, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Kevin Buys, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 Schalk Ferreira.
Replacements: 16 Virgile Lacombe, 17 Grant Kemp, 18 David Bulbring, 19 Luke Watson, 20 Nicolas Vergallo, 21 Waylon Murray, 22 Siviwe Soyizwapi.

Waratahs: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Cam Crawford, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Rob Horne, 11 Peter Betham, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Brendan McKibbin, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dave Dennis (c), 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Sitaleki Timani, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.
Replacements: 16 John Ulugia, 17 Paddy Ryan, 18 Will Skelton, 19 Mitchell Chapman, 20 Pat McCutcheon, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Ben Volavola, 23 Tom Kingston.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com