Home team Away Team

Melbourne Rebels

  • Higginbotham, Phipps, Pyle (2), Beale (2), Higginbotham, Phipps, Pyle (2),
    Conversions: O'Connor (8),
33 - 39


  • Aki, Anscombe (3), Cane, Retallick, Anscombe (3), Cane, Retallick, Aki,
    Penalty goals: Anscombe, Anscombe,
    Conversions: Anscombe (3), Anscombe (3),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 3rd May 2013
  • KO 10:40
  • Ground: AAMI Park, Melbourne

Melbourne Rebels v Chiefs - Super Rugby match preview

Last updated: 2nd May 2013  

Sam Cane Chiefs v Cheetahs Round Three 2013

Sam Cane: One of several changes made by the Chiefs

Kurtley Beale on training ground

Kurtley Beale: Has been welcomed back into the fold by the Rebels

Related links


Also see

The Rebels have named an unchanged starting XV for Friday's clash with the Chiefs - although there is a place on the bench for Kurtley Beale.

Beale has not played since breaking his hand against the Waratahs, with the Australia international having been suspended by the club for off-the-field issues.

Beale comes in to the squad at the expense of Angus Roberts.

Coach Damien Hill has kept faith in the side after a much-improved display against the Crusaders last time out.

The Chiefs, on the other hand, have made several changes to their starting XV.

Up front Ben Tameifuna, Pauliasi Manu, Sam Cane and Matt Vant Leven are all named in the line-up.

In the backs, Brendon Leonard starts ahead of the benched Augustine Pulu while Bundee Aki replaces the injured Richard Kahui.

Joining Pulu on the bench will be Hika Elliot, Toby Smith, Tanerau Latimer and Patrick Osborne.

Rebels: 15 Jason Woodward, 14 Tom English, 13 Mitch Inman, 12 Rory Sidey, 11 Cooper Vuna, 10 James O'Connor, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Scott Higginbotham (c), 7 Scott Fuglistaller, 6 Jarrod Saffy, 5 Cadeyrn Neville, 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 Ged Robinson, 1 Nic Henderson.
Replacements: 16 Shota Horie, 17 Paul Alo-Emile, 18 Luke Jones, 19 Gareth Delve, 20 Nic Stirzaker, 21 Kurtley Beale, 22 Lachlan Mitchell.

Chiefs: 15 Gareth Anscombe, 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Tim Nanai-Williams, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Brendon Leonard, 8 Matt Vant Leven, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Craig Clarke (c), 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Mahonri Schwalger, 1 Pauliasi Manu.
Replacements: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Toby Smith, 18 Michael Fitzgerald, 19 Tanerau Latimer, 20 Augustine Pulu, 21 Robbie Robinson, 22 Patrick Osborne.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com