Home team Away Team


  • Engelbrecht, Ndungane, Vermaak, Spies,
    Penalty goals: Steyn (3),
    Conversions: Steyn (3),
35 - 18


  • Tanaka, Ellison,
    Penalty goals: Slade (2),
    Conversions: Parker,
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 18th May 2013
  • KO 16:05
  • Ground: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

Bulls v Highlanders - Super Rugby match preview

Last updated: 17th May 2013  

Jamie Mackintosh Highlanders 2012

Jamie Mackintosh returns to the Highlanders starting line-up as one of three forward changes

 Morne Steyn Bulls

Record Breaker: Morne Steyn will become the Bulls most capped player with a 117th appearance on Saturday

Related links





Also see

The Bulls have named five changes to their squad ahead of Saturday's Super Rugby clash with the Highlanders in Pretoria.

Jan Serfontein is back in Frans Ludeke's starting XV as he gets the nod at inside centre ahead of Wynand Olivier.

Winger Lionel Mapoe comes back into the side to start on the left as Bjorn Basson is reduced to the bench while Francois Hougaard is preferred to Jano Vermaak at scrum-half.

In the front row props Frik Kirsten and Morne Mellett replace Werner Kruger and Dean Greyling who both featured in the Bulls 48-14 victory against the Hurricanes last time out.

Following a ninth defeat of the Super Rugby campaign last weekend Jamie Joseph has made three changes to his Highlanders squad to visit Loftus Versfeld.

Jamie Mackintosh comes into the starting line-up at loose-head prop with Tony Woodcock demoted to the bench.

The Highlanders are without Josh Bekhuis who sustained a shoulder injury during the 34-27 loss to the Southern Kings meaning Jarrad Hoeata starts at lock.

Flanker Joe Wheeler is set to start on the blindside with Mose Tuiali'i taking the number eight jersey which leaves TJ Ioane amongst the replacements.

Bulls: 15 Jürgen Visser, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Lionel Mapoe, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies (capt), 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Frik Kirsten, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Morné Mellet.
Replacements: 16 Callie Visagie, 17 Werner Kruger, 18 Grant Hattingh, 19 Arno Botha, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Louis Fouchè, 22 Bjorn Basson.

Highlanders: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Tino Nemani, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Shaun Treeby, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Colin Slade, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Mose Tuiali'i, 7 John Hardie, 6 Joe Wheeler, 5 Jarrad Hoeata, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Chris King, 2 Andrew Hore (capt), 1 Jamie Mackintosh.
Replacements: 16 Liam Coltman, 17 Tony Woodcock, 18 Elliot Dixon, 19 TJ Ioane, 20 Fumiaki Tanaka, 21 Hayden Parker, 22 Jason Emery.

Click here for more betting
Forthcoming Super Rugby Fixtures
Super Rugby
Friday 13th February
Super Rugby
06:35Crusaders vs Melbourne Rebels
08:40Brumbies vs Reds
17:10Lions vs Hurricanes
Saturday 14th February
06:35Blues vs Chiefs
15:05Sharks vs Cheetahs
17:05Bulls vs Stormers
Sunday 15th February
06:05Waratahs vs Western Force
Friday 20th February
06:35Chiefs vs Brumbies
08:40Melbourne Rebels vs Waratahs
17:10Bulls vs Hurricanes
Saturday 21st February
06:35Highlanders vs Crusaders
08:40Reds vs Western Force
15:05Stormers vs Blues
17:10Sharks vs Lions
Friday 27th February
06:35Highlanders vs Reds
11:00Western Force vs Hurricanes
17:10Cheetahs vs Blues
Saturday 28th February
06:35Chiefs vs Crusaders
08:40Melbourne Rebels vs Brumbies
15:05Bulls vs Sharks
17:10Lions vs Stormers
Friday 6th March
06:35Chiefs vs Highlanders
08:40Brumbies vs Western Force
Saturday 7th March
06:35Blues vs Lions
08:40Reds vs Waratahs

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com