Home team Away Team


  • Faingaa, Holmes, Sio, Speight, Rathbone (2),
    Penalty goals: Mogg,
    Conversions: Prior (3),
39 - 17

Melbourne Rebels

  • Alo-Emile, English,
    Penalty goals: Woodward,
    Conversions: Woodward (2),
  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 7th Jun 2013
  • KO 10:40
  • Ground: Canberra Stadium

Brumbies v Rebels - Super Rugby match preview

Last updated: 7th June 2013   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Kurtley Beale Gareth Delve rebels

Gareth Delve: Will skipper the Rebels

Pat McCabe Brumbies 2013

Pat McCabe: Named at inside centre for the Brumbies

Related links


Also see

The Brumbies have made five changes for Friday's Super Rugby clash against the Rebels in Canberra.

Pat McCabe returns at inside centre, while Clyde Rathbone, Leon Power, Dan Palmer and Siliva Siliva also start - with head coach Jake White rejigging his side to cover international call-ups and injury.

There are also two positional changes in the back-row, with Scott Fardy moving to the blindside and Peter Kimlin switching to No 8.

Josh Mann-Rea, Etienne Oosthuizen and Zack Holmes are added to the bench to provide cover.


The Rebels have also rung the changes for the derby - with injuries and call-ups by the Wallabies hampering their preparations.

Scott Higginbotham, Hugh Pyle and Jarrod Saffy are among those sidelined through injury, while James O'Connor and Nick Phipps are part of the Australia training squad. Shota Horie is also involved in Japan squad.

Gareth Delve, Luke Jones, Jordy Reid, Nic Stirzaker and Bryce Hegarty all come into the starting XV.

Former Wallabies scrum-half Luke Burgess, loose forward James King and hooker Pat Leafa are all poised to make their first appearances for the Rebels off the bench, while Tim Davison is included in the squad for the first time this season.

Brumbies: 15 Jesse Mogg, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Pat McCabe, 11 Clyde Rathbone, 10 Matt Toomua, 9 Nic White (c), 8 Peter Kimlin, 7 Colby Faingaa, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Leon Power, 3 Dan Palmer, 2 Siliva Siliva, 1 Scott Sio.
Replacements: 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 Ruan Smith, 18 Etienne Oosthuizen, 19 Jordan Smiler, 20 Ian Prior, 21 Robbie Coleman, 22 Zack Holmes.

Rebels:15 Jason Woodward 14 Tom English 13 Mitch Inman 12 Rory Sidey 11 Lachlan Mitchell 10 Bryce Hegarty 9 Nic Stirzaker 8 Gareth Delve 7 Scott Fuglistaller 6 Jordy Reid 5 Luke Jones 4 Cadeyrn Neville 3 Laurie Weeks 2 Ged Robinson 1 Nic Henderson.
Replacements: 16 Pat Leafa 17 Paul Alo-Emile 18 James King 19 Tim Davidson 20 Luke Burgess 21 James Hilgendorf 22 Kimami Sitauti

Click here for more betting
Forthcoming Super Rugby Fixtures
Super Rugby
Friday 13th February
Super Rugby
06:35Crusaders vs Melbourne Rebels
08:40Brumbies vs Reds
17:10Lions vs Hurricanes
Saturday 14th February
06:35Blues vs Chiefs
15:05Sharks vs Cheetahs
17:05Bulls vs Stormers
Sunday 15th February
06:05Waratahs vs Western Force
Friday 20th February
06:35Chiefs vs Brumbies
08:40Melbourne Rebels vs Waratahs
17:10Bulls vs Hurricanes
Saturday 21st February
06:35Highlanders vs Crusaders
08:40Reds vs Western Force
15:05Stormers vs Blues
17:10Sharks vs Lions
Friday 27th February
06:35Highlanders vs Reds
11:00Western Force vs Hurricanes
17:10Cheetahs vs Blues
Saturday 28th February
06:35Chiefs vs Crusaders
08:40Melbourne Rebels vs Brumbies
15:05Bulls vs Sharks
17:10Lions vs Stormers
Friday 6th March
06:35Chiefs vs Highlanders
08:40Brumbies vs Western Force
Saturday 7th March
06:35Blues vs Lions
08:40Reds vs Waratahs

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com