Home team Away Team


18 - 34


  • Super Rugby
  • Overall Group
  • 25th Apr 2014
  • KO 18:10
  • Ground: Growthpoint Kings Park, Durban

Super Rugby: Sharks take on the Highlanders in Durban

Last updated: 24th April 2014  

Jarrad Hoeata after fifth Highlanders defeat

Jarrad Hoeata: In the Highlanders matchday squad for clash in Durban

paul jordaan sharks

Paul Jordaan: The Sharks centre returns after a knee injury

Related links




Also see

Table-topping Sharks will be determined to finish off on a high, before leaving on their overseas trip when they host the Highlanders in Durban.

The Durban-based outfit are currently sitting at the top of the table and as this is their last match before heading off on their tour to Australasia for matches against the Rebels, Brumbies, Crusaders and Blues.

Jake White's side are yet to lose at Kings Park Stadium after six games and their only defeat from eight matches was suffered against the Bulls in Pretoria.

And although they haven't lost to the New Zealanders for nine years, White says his team will not under-estimate their opponents when they clash.

"There is no doubt that this year they are way better than they were last year," White said. "Ben Smith and Aaron Smith are probably the two form players in New Zealand."

Sharks centre Paul Jordaan returns to action after spending six weeks on the sidelines with a knee injury.

The Highlanders are currently in eighth spot in the overall standings with 19 points from seven matches and their four victories.

Coach Jamie Joseph will rely heavily on experienced All Blacks duo Ben Smith and Aaron Smith to lead the way.

They suffered a setback when veteran lock Brad Thorn tore his bicep in the victory over the Bulls, which has put his season in doubt and ruled him out of their tour to South Africa but the Dunedin-based outfit have solid cover in Jarrad Hoeata, Joe Wheeler and Josh Bekhuis who are all in the matchday squad.

Sharks: 15 Lwazi Mvovo, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 S'bura Sithole, 10 Tim Swiel, 9 Charl McLeod, 1 Tendai Mtawarira, 2 Bismarck du Plessis (c), 3 Jannie du Plessis, 4 Willem Alberts, 5 Stephan Lewies, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 7 Jean Deysel, 8 Keegan Daniel.
Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Dale Chadwick, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Etienne Oosthuizen, 20 Ryan Kankowski, 21 Stefan Ungerer, 22 Heimar Williams, 23 SP Marais.

Highlanders: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Richard Buckman, 13 Malakai Fekitoa, 12 Shaun Treeby, 11 Patrick Osborne, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith. 1 Kane Hames, 8 Nasi Manu, 7 Shane Christie, 6 Elliot Dixon, 5 Joe Wheeler, 4 Jarrad Hoeata, 3 Chris King, 2 Liam Coltman
Replacements: 16 Ged Robinson, 17 Craig Millar, 18 Ma'afu Fia, 19 Josh Bekhuis, 20 Gareth Evans, 21 Fumiaki Tanaka, 22 Trent Renata, 23 John Hardie.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com