Home team Away Team


  • Penalty goals: Yachvili (3),
9 - 16


  • Guest,
    Penalty goals: Evans (3),
    Conversions: Evans,
  • European Rugby Champions Cup
  • Pool 3
  • 18th Jan 2013
  • KO 20:00
  • Ground: Parc des Sports Aguilera
  • Att: 9,000

Heineken Cup match preview: Landmark day for Harlequins' Mike Brown

Last updated: 18th January 2013  

Iain Balshaw Top 14 Biarritz

Iain Balshaw: Will line up for Biarritz reverting to full-back

mike brown harlequins v northampton

Mike Brown: Will make his 200th appearance for Harlequins this weekend

Related links


Also see

Mike Brown will make his 200th appearance for Harlequins in their Heineken Cup clash against Biarritz on Friday night.

George Lowe and Jordan Turner-Hall also renew their centre partnership in midfield and Tom Guest has been named at number eight, joining captain Chris Robshaw and Maurie Fa'asavalu in the back row.

Luke Wallace is named among the replacements, while Ollie Lindsay-Hague will look to make his first appearance in the Heineken Cup.

Meanwhile, Taku Ngwenya returns on the right wing to the Biarritz starting line-up, with ex-England international Iain Balshaw reverting to full-back.

Former London Wasps prop Ben Broster is named at tighthead with Fabien Barcella on the opposite side of the scrum. Imanol Harinodorquy returns at number eight and Raphael Lakafia moves to openside flanker.

The Top 14 side will be looking for revenge for their 40-13 defeat to Harlequins at the Twickenham Stoop in the Pool opener back in October.

Qualification is a long shot for the French side, who were Heineken Cup finalists in 2006 and 2010. They simply have to beat Quins to come into the reckoning as qualifiers for the Amlin Challenge Cup quarter-finals.

Biarritz: 15 Iain Balshaw, 14 Taku Ngwenya, 13 Benoît Baby, 12 Damien Traille, 11 Aled Brew, 10 Jean-Pascal Barraque, 9 Dimitri Yachvili, 8 Imanol Harinordoquy, 7 Raphael Lakafia, 6 Wenceslas Lauret, 5 Pelu Taele, 4 Thibault Dubarry, 3 Ben Broster, 2 Arnaud Heguy, 1 Fabien Barcella.

Replacements: 16 Jean-Philippe Genevois, 17 Thomas Synaeghel, 18 Eugène Van Staden, 19 Erik Lund, 20 Talalelei Gray, 21 Yann Lesgourgues, 22 Julien Peyrelongue, 23 Seremaïa Burotu.

Harlequins: 15. Mike Brown, 14. Tom Williams, 13. George Lowe, 12. Jordan Turner-Hall, 11. Ugo Monye, 10. Nick Evans, 9. Danny Care, 8. Tom Guest, 7. Chris Robshaw (C), 6. Maurie Fa'asavalu, 5. George Robson, 4. Olly Kohn, 3. James Johnston, 2. Joe Gray, 1. Joe Marler.

Replacements: 16. Rob Buchanan, 17. Mark Lambert, 18. Will Collier, 19. Charlie Matthews, 20. Luke Wallace, 21. Karl Dickson, 22. Ben Botica, 23. Ollie Lindsay-Hague.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com