Home team Away Team

London Irish

  • Hickey, Hewat, Geraghty, Thorpe (3),
    Penalty goals: Hewat,
    Conversions: Hickey, Hewat (3),
41 - 24

Newport-Gwent D'gons

  • Sweeney, Daly, Wyatt, Fussell,
    Conversions: Sweeney, Smith,

London Irish v Dragons - Teams

Madejski Stadium, Saturday January 12, kick off 13:30

Last updated: 11th January 2008   Subscribe to RSS Feed

London Irish v Dragons - Teams

Richards: returns to the starting line-up

Related links


Also see

London Irish can consolidate their position at the top of Heineken Cup Pool One with victory over the Dragons on Saturday.

Peter Richards and Peter Hewat come into the starting XV in the two changes to the side that beat Sale 20-12 on January 6.

Delon Armitage moves into the centre alongside Shane Geraghty to accomodate Hewat at full-back, while Gonzalo Tiesi and Paul Hodgson drop to the bench.

"We have two remaining Pool matches and it is important that we win both if we are to stay in control of the Pool and progress to the play-off stages of the Heineken Cup for the first time in the club's history," London Irish director of rugby Brian Smith told the club's official website.

"The Dragons have been in good form in the Celtic League winning most of their games since we last played them.

"They will be confident and difficult opposition tomorrow."

Morgan out

The Dragons are without full-back Kevin Morgan for the trip to the Madejski Stadium.

Morgan injured his Achilles during the Magners League win over Glasgow on January 4.

Prop Rhys Thomas (ribs) and flanker Richard Parks (knee) are also both sidelined by injury.

Aled Thomas replaces Morgan at full-back, Gethin Robinson comes in for Thomas and James Harris is selected in place of Parks in the back-row.

Wayne Evans returns at scrum-half after serving a two-week ban for fighting, meaning Alex Walker drops to the bench.

London Irish: 15 Peter Hewat, 14 Topsy Ojo, 13 Delon Armitage, 12 Shane Geraghty, 11 Sailosi Tagicakibau, 10 Eoghan Hickey, 9 Peter Richards*; 1 Clarke Dermody, 2 David Paice, 3 Tongo Lea'aetoa, 4 Nick Kennedy, 5 Bob Casey (capt), 6 Declan Danaher, 7 Steffon Armitage, 8 Richard Thorpe
Replacements: 16 Dan Murphy, 17, Danie Coetzee, 18 James Hudson, 19 Phil Murphy, 20 Tomas De Vedia, 21 Paul Hodgson, 22 Gonzalo Tiesi

Dragons: 15 Aled Thomas, 14 Richard Mustoe, 13 Paul Emerick, 12 Ashley Smith, 11 Richard Fussell, 10 Ceri Sweeney, 9 Wayne Evans; 1 Adam Black, 2 Ben Daly, 3 Gethin Robinson, 4 Andrew Hall, 5 Peter Sidoli, 6 Joe Bearman, 7 James Harris, 8 Michael Owen (capt)
Replacements: 16 Kieran Crawford, 17 Hugh Gustafson, 18 Adam Jones, 19 Lewis Evans, 20 Alex Walker, 21 Phil Dollman, 22 Gareth Wyatt

Click here for more betting
Forthcoming European Rugby Champions Cup Fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Friday 5th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
19:45Montpellier vs Bath
Saturday 6th December
13:00Sale vs Saracens
17:30Munster vs Clermont Auvergne
19:45Ulster vs Scarlets
13:00Benetton Treviso vs Northampton
15:15Ospreys vs Racing Metro 92
Sunday 7th December
13:00Castres vs Wasps
15:15Harlequins vs Leinster
17:30Leicester vs Toulon
15:15Toulouse vs Glasgow
Friday 12th December
19:45Bath vs Montpellier
Saturday 13th December
17:15Saracens vs Sale
19:45Leinster vs Harlequins
15:15Toulon vs Leicester
13:00Glasgow vs Toulouse
15:15Northampton vs Benetton Treviso
17:15Racing Metro 92 vs Ospreys
Sunday 14th December
15:15Clermont Auvergne vs Munster
13:00Wasps vs Castres
17:15Scarlets vs Ulster
Saturday 17th January
TBCSaracens vs Munster
TBCSale vs Clermont Auvergne
TBCHarlequins vs Wasps
TBCLeinster vs Castres
TBCLeicester vs Scarlets

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com