Home team Away Team


  • Hamilton, Allen,
    Penalty goals: Flood (2),
    Conversions: Flood (2),
20 - 15

Clermont Auvergne

  • Penalty goals: James (2),
    Drop goals: James (3),
  • European Rugby Champions Cup
  • Pool 3
  • 19th Dec 2009
  • KO 18:00
  • Ground: Welford Road
  • Att: 21,286

Leicester v Clermont: Teams

At Welford Road, Saturday December 19, kick-off 6pm

Last updated: 18th December 2009   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Leicester v Clermont: Teams

Hipkiss: Centre of attention

Related links



Also see

Leicester boss Richard Cockerill wants his side to show the same fighting spirit when they take on Clermont for the second successive week.

Leicester battled back in France only to be ultimately edged out of a thrilling contest.

And Cockerill said: "We know we did not play at our best last Sunday, but the players have to take credit for battling all the way to the end and giving themsevles an opportunity to get something out of the game.

"Clermont played very well, they are a good side. But we are a good side too and we're looking forward to another big European occasion in front of a big crowd at Welford Road."

Cockerill has named Dan Hipkiss in the centres after Aaron Mauger was ruled out through injury.

Lions scrum-half Harry Ellis returns on the bench with Ben Youngs starting at No.9. In the only change in the pack, Marcos Ayerza starts at prop.

Clermont's star winger Napolioni Nalaga has been ruled out of the match with a thigh injury, so skipper Aurelien Rougerie must shift from centre to the wing.

Lionel Faure, Davit Zirakashvili and Julien Pierre have been recalled in favour of Thomas Domingo, Martin Scelzo and Thibaut Privat.

Leicester: 15 Scott Hamilton, 14 Alesana Tuilagi, 13 Dan Hipkiss, 12 Anthony Allen, 11 Lote Tuqiri, 10 Toby Flood, 9 Ben Youngs, 1 Marcos Ayerza, 2 Mefin Davies, 3 Martin Castrogiovanni, 4 Louis Deacon (c), 5 Geoff Parling, 6 Craig Newby, 7 Lewis Moody, 8 Jordan Crane.
Replacements: 16 George Chuter, 17 Dan Cole, 18 Boris Stankovich, 19 Ben Kay, 20 Brett Deacon, 21 Harry Ellis, 22 Jeremy Staunton, 23 Johne Murphy

Clermont: 15 Anthony Floch, 14 Aurelien Rougerie, 13 Gonzalo Canale, Bai, 11 Julien Malzieu, 10 Brock James, 9 Morgan Parra, 8 Elvis Vermeulen, 7 Alexandre Audebert, 6 Julien Bonnaire, 5 Julien Pierre, 4 Jamie Cudmore, 3 Davit Zirakashvili, 2 Mario Ledesma, 1 Lionel Faure.
Replacements: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Thomas Domingo, 18 Martin Scelzo, 19 Thibaut Privat, 20 Jason White, 21 Kevin Senio, 22 Brent Russell, 23 Wesley Fofana.

Click here for more betting
Forthcoming European Rugby Champions Cup Fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Friday 5th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
19:45Montpellier vs Bath
Saturday 6th December
13:00Sale vs Saracens
17:30Munster vs Clermont Auvergne
19:45Ulster vs Scarlets
13:00Benetton Treviso vs Northampton
15:15Ospreys vs Racing Metro 92
Sunday 7th December
13:00Castres vs Wasps
15:15Harlequins vs Leinster
17:30Leicester vs Toulon
15:15Toulouse vs Glasgow
Friday 12th December
19:45Bath vs Montpellier
Saturday 13th December
17:15Saracens vs Sale
19:45Leinster vs Harlequins
15:15Toulon vs Leicester
13:00Glasgow vs Toulouse
15:15Northampton vs Benetton Treviso
17:15Racing Metro 92 vs Ospreys
Sunday 14th December
15:15Clermont Auvergne vs Munster
13:00Wasps vs Castres
17:15Scarlets vs Ulster
Saturday 17th January
TBCSaracens vs Munster
TBCSale vs Clermont Auvergne
TBCHarlequins vs Wasps
TBCLeinster vs Castres
TBCLeicester vs Scarlets

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com