Home team Away Team


25 - 17


  • Super Rugby
  • Final
  • 29th May 2010
  • KO 17:00
  • Ground: TBA

Bulls v Stormers: Teams

At Orlando Stadium, Saturday May 29, kick-off 4pm

Last updated: 27th May 2010   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Bulls v Stormers: Teams

Coetzee: Forward battle

Related links


Also see

Stormers head coach Allister Coetzee has backed his side to on the Bulls upfront in Saturday's Super 14 final.

The Bulls has built their success around their forward strength - with the likes of Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Pierre Spies and Gary Botha having impressed.

However Coetzee, who has recalled prop JC Kritzinger to the bench after four weeks out with a calf injury, is confident his side can match their South African rivals in the scrum.

"It's great to have JC back, as we've said from the beginning he's the second-choice loosehead and can also cover tighthead," said Coetzee.

"It's because of the quality of the player that we didn't pick five forwards on the bench.

"The Bulls like to apply pressure at the set-pieces, but we feel we're well covered at the scrum with JC, Wicus Blaauw and Brok Harris in the squad.


"There are no problems with the scrum, and I think the Bulls will scrum positively, unlike the Waratahs."

Coetzee is expecting former Bulls winger Bryan Habana to be fit for the game despite missing training with a cold.

The Bulls have made just one change to their line-up for the match, with Gerhard van den Heever returning from suspension to start on the wing.

Jaco van der Westhuyzen makes way and drops to the bench, with Stephan Dippenaar missing out as coach Frans Ludeke opts for a 5-2 split among his replacements.

Jacques-Louis Potgieter is the other back on the bench, with Bandise Maku, Bees Roux, Flip van der Merwe, Derick KuŁn and Pedrie Wannenburg covering the forwards.

Francois Hougaard, Danie Rossouw, Wynand Olivier and Fourie du Preez have all been passed fit for the clash after injury scares.

Stormers: 15 Joe Pietersen; 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Juan De Jongh, 11 Bryan Habana; 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Schalk Burger (c), 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Adriaan Fondse, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Wicus Blaauw.
Replacements: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 JC Kritzinger, 18 Anton van Zyl, 19 Pieter Louw, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Willem De Waal, 22 Tim Whitehead.

Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Jaco Pretorius, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Mornť Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Gary Botha, 1 GurthrŲ Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Bees Roux, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Derick KuŁn, 20 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 21 Jaco van der Westhuyzen, 22 Pedrie Wannenburg.

Click here for more betting
Forthcoming Super Rugby Fixtures
Super Rugby
Friday 13th February
Super Rugby
06:35Crusaders vs Melbourne Rebels
08:40Brumbies vs Reds
17:10Lions vs Hurricanes
Saturday 14th February
06:35Blues vs Chiefs
15:05Sharks vs Cheetahs
17:05Bulls vs Stormers
Sunday 15th February
06:05Waratahs vs Western Force
Friday 20th February
06:35Chiefs vs Brumbies
08:40Melbourne Rebels vs Waratahs
17:10Bulls vs Hurricanes
Saturday 21st February
06:35Highlanders vs Crusaders
08:40Reds vs Western Force
15:05Stormers vs Blues
17:10Sharks vs Lions
Friday 27th February
06:35Highlanders vs Reds
11:00Western Force vs Hurricanes
17:10Cheetahs vs Blues
Saturday 28th February
06:35Chiefs vs Crusaders
08:40Melbourne Rebels vs Brumbies
15:05Bulls vs Sharks
17:10Lions vs Stormers
Friday 6th March
06:35Chiefs vs Highlanders
08:40Brumbies vs Western Force
Saturday 7th March
06:35Blues vs Lions
08:40Reds vs Waratahs

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com