Leicester v Wasps: Teams

At Welford Road, Saturday February 19, kick-off 5.30pm

Last updated: 19th February 2011   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Leicester v Wasps: Teams

Croft: Back for Tigers

Related links


Also see

England flanker Tom Croft returns from injury to take his place on the Leicester bench for the visit of Wasps.

Croft will look to stake a claim for an international recall ahead of the RBS Six Nations clash with France by proving his fitness in the clash.

The Tigers will also welcome back Italy prop Martin Castrogiovanni and Boris Stankovich, but Jordan Crane, Ed Slater, Matt Smith, Julian White, Geordan Murphy, Ben Pienaar and Geoff Parling are all sidelined.

Director of rugby Richard Cockerill said: "We've got four tough games to play during this Six Nations period and, although we made a good start to that run with a win at Leeds last week, we want to keep it going.

"We've had some cracking games against Wasps in recent years and it should be a good contest.

"Julian White has had a bit of an injury but having Castro back softens the blow and I thought Pete Bucknall did an outstanding job for us at Leeds last weekend."

London Wasps coach Shaun Edwards has made five changes to the side in the wake of Tony Hanks' departure.

Mark Van Gisbergen, Nic Berry, Tom Lindsay, Marty Veale and Joe Launchbury all come into the side on the back of the defeat to Gloucester.

Wasps have picked up two wins from their past three visits to Welford Road, while they toppled the Tigers 37-30 at Adams Park earlier in the season.

Leicester: 15 Scott Hamilton, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Manu Tuilagi, 12 Anthony Allen, 11 Alesana Tuilagi, 10 Jeremy Staunton, 9 James Grindal, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Ben Woods, 6 Craig Newby (capt), 5 George Skivington, 4 Steve Mafi, 3 Martin Castrogiovanni, 2 George Chuter, 1 Boris Stankovich.
Replacements: 16 Rob Hawkins, 17 Marcos Ayerza, 18 Peter Bucknall, 19 Calum Green, 20 Tom Croft, 21 Sam Harrison, 22 Dan Hipkiss, 23 Billy Twelvetrees.

Wasps: 15 Mark Van Gisbergen, 14 Richard Haughton, 13 Dominic Waldouck, 12 Riki Flutey, 11 Ben Jacob, 10 Dave Walder, 9 Nic Berry, 8 Joe Worsley, 7 Serge Betsen, 6 Joe Launchbury, 5 Richard Birkett (capt), 4 Marty Veale, 3 Ben Broster, 2 Tom Lindsay, 1 Tim Payne.
Replacements: 16 Joe Ward, 17 Shaun Ruwers, 18 Bob Baker, 19 James Cannon, 20 Sam Jones, 21 Joe Simpson, 22 Steve Kefu, 23 Jack Wallace.

Click here for more betting