Home team Away Team


  • Ashley-Cooper, O'Connor,
    Penalty goals: Giteau (3), Beale,
22 - 23

New Zealand

  • McCaw, Read,
    Penalty goals: Weepu (3),
    Conversions: Weepu (2),
  • Rugby Championship
  • 11th Sep 2010
  • KO 11:00

Australia v NZ: Teams

At ANZ Stadium, Saturday September 11, kick-off 11am

Last updated: 11th September 2010  

Australia v NZ: Teams

Genia: Confident

Related links


Also see

Scrum-half Will Genia is confident that Australia can end their nine-Test losing streak against New Zealand on Saturday.

The Wallabies go in the game on the back of a rousing 41-39 victory over world champions South Africa in Bloemfontein.

And having shown their strength of character in that victory, Genia believes the Wallabies can now topple the Tri-Nations champions in Sydney.

"I think that was the biggest thing that we'd been missing is the fact that we responded to adversity," Genia said.

"We started well in both games and in the first one we didn't respond to them coming at us and coming back into the game, so to be able to have that response from the guys and show that we can do it and really close out a game at the end instils a lot of belief within the group.

"I think there's a very good chance that we can beat New Zealand this weekend."


Coach Robbie Deans has made one change to his starting XV with Lachie Turner replacing the injured Drew Mitchell.

Deans makes one change on the bench with hooker Huia Edmonds providing back up to Stephen Moore.

Aaron Cruden will get his chance to shine at No.10 for New Zealand at the ANZ Stadium on Saturday.

Cruden has been handed his first start - after five appearances off the bench - with Dan Carter having undergone surgery on his ankle.

The inclusion of Cruden is one of five changes for the clash, with Israel Dagg, Piri Weepu, Owen Franks and Victor Vito also starting.

Australia: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 James O'Connor, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Lachie Turner, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom (c), 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Mark Chisholm, 3 Salesi Ma'afu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Benn Robinson.
Replacements: 16 Huia Edmonds, 17 James Slipper, 18 Dean Mumm, 19 Richard Brown, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Berrick Barnes, 21 Anthony Fainga'a.

New Zealand: 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Israel Dagg, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Victor Vito, 5 Tom Donnelly, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Corey Flynn, 17 John Afoa, 18 Anthony Boric, 19 Jerome Kaino, 20 Jimmy Cowan, 21 Colin Slade, 22 Rene Ranger.

Click here for more betting

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com