Home team Away Team


  • Monye, Brooker, Smith, Wallace (2),
    Penalty goals: Evans, Dickson, Clegg,
    Conversions: Evans (3), Clegg,
42 - 6


  • Penalty goals: Burns (2),

Quins v Gloucester: Teams

At Twickenham Stoop, Saturday September 17, kick-off 3pm

Last updated: 16th September 2011   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Quins v Gloucester: Teams

Lambert: Replaces the suspended Marler

Related links


Also see

Harlequins have made two enforced changes to their starting XV for the Gloucester's visit to the Stoop on Saturday.

Sam Smith will play on the wing in place of Ross Chisholm, who will be sidelined for a number of weeks with an ankle injury.

Joe Marler is unavailable after being given a three-week ban for striking, meaning Mark Lambert is brought into the line-up at prop. The rest of the pack remains unchanged from last Friday's win over Northampton.

Quins will be looking to continue a run of form that has seen them win five of their last six matches in all competitions, with their only defeat in that period being a 13-16 defeat to Saracens in May.

Gloucester hand a first start to Australian hooker Nathan Charles as coach Bryan Redpath makes several changes to the line-up that comfortably defeated Worcester.

Charles will start in the front row alongside Nick Wood and Rupert Harden, who comes into the team for Dario Chistolini at tighthead.

With Will James banned for one match, Tom Savage keeps his place at lock, with Alex Brown joining him in the second row having missed out at home to the Warriors last weekend.

Brett Deacon will make his first start of the season at No. 8 and Matt Cox moves to openside flanker as Andy Hazell is absent due to a thumb injury.

There are also changes in the backs, with Henry Trinder starting at outside centre in place of Jonny May, who is dropped to the bench, while Freddie Burns is preferred to Tim Taylor at fly-half.

Harlequins: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Sam Smith, 13 George Lowe, 12 Jordan Turner-Hall, 11 Ugo Monye, 10 Nick Evans, 9 Karl Dickson, 8 Chris York, 7 Luke Wallace, 6 Chris Robshaw (c), 5 George Robson, 4 Ollie Kohn, 3 Tim Fairbrother, 2 Joe Gray, 1 Mark Lambert.
Replacements: 16 Chris Brooker, 17 Darryl Marfo, 18 James Johnston, 19 Charlie Matthews, 20 Joe Trayfoot, 21 Richard Bolt, 22 Rory Clegg, 23 Charlie Walker.

Gloucester: 15 Olly Morgan, 14 Charlie Sharples, 13 Henry Trinder, 12 Lesley Vainikolo, 11 Tom Voyce, 10 Freddie Burns, 9 Nick Runciman, 8 Brett Deacon, 7 Matt Cox, 6 Peter Buxton (c), 5 Alex Brown, 4 Tom Savage, 3 Rupert Harden, 2 Nathan Charles, 1 Nick Wood.
Replacements: 16 Darren Dawidiuk, 17 Dan Murphy, 18 Dario Chistolini, 19 Dave Lyons, 20 Gareth Evans, 21 Dan Robson, 22 Tim Taylor, 23 Jonny May.

Click here for more betting
Forthcoming Aviva Premiership Fixtures
Aviva Premiership
Friday 19th September
Aviva Premiership
19:45Gloucester vs Exeter
Saturday 20th September
14:00Sale vs London Welsh
15:00Harlequins vs Wasps
15:00London Irish vs Saracens
15:15Bath vs Leicester
Sunday 21st September
14:00Newcastle vs Northampton
Friday 26th September
19:45London Welsh vs Gloucester
Saturday 27th September
15:00Leicester vs London Irish
15:00Saracens vs Sale
15:15Northampton vs Bath
Sunday 28th September
14:00Wasps vs Newcastle
14:00Exeter vs Harlequins
Friday 3rd October
19:45Bath vs Saracens
Saturday 4th October
15:00Harlequins vs London Welsh
15:00London Irish vs Northampton
15:15Gloucester vs Leicester
Sunday 5th October
14:00Sale vs Wasps
15:00Newcastle vs Exeter
Friday 10th October
19:45Leicester vs Harlequins
Saturday 11th October
14:30London Welsh vs Newcastle
15:00Saracens vs Gloucester
15:00Exeter vs London Irish
15:15Northampton vs Sale
Sunday 12th October
14:00Wasps vs Bath
Saturday 15th November
14:00Sale vs London Irish

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com